Skip to content

Jeanius?

February 24, 2010

If I had to describe my style, I’d reference Blair Waldorf, youthful femininity, and the 1960′s. I like to dress like “ladies who lunch.” I adore the now-outdated mentality of dressing up everyday, simply because you should. I love ruffled skirts, floral dresses, and pale pink tights.

None of this, however, works with jeans.

I own three pairs of jeans: one pair of dark wash skinnies from Citizens of Humanity, one pair of medium wash trouser jeans from It!, and one medium wash mid-rise bootcut from Topshop. I wear them so rarely that my sister asks me if I’m sick whenever I do. I feel less comfortable – not to mention less confident – in jeans and a t-shirt than I do in a high-waisted skirt and colorful tights. For whatever reason, I feel sloppy, lazy, and less feminine in jeans. I dread shopping for jeans because it’s challenging for me to find a pair that fits well; I’ve inherited height from my dad and hips from my mom, which ensures that most jeans look like ill-fitting high-water pants on me.

However, after seeing some decidedly chic denim-wearing girls with an air of, “What, this old thing?” that a Waldorf-esque dress can’t quite convey, I’m rethinking my grudge against jeans.

Photo Credits: 1, 2, 3

From left to right: The Stylish Wanderer, Emily of Cupcakes & Cashmere, and Kate Moss. Don’t they look so chic? There’s a certain je ne sais quoi, a laidback androgyny that I admire. I think it’s time for me to strike a balance in my wardrobe and make more room in my closet for denim.

On Sunday, I wore my trouser jeans with a sheer lace top over a bright red Sugarlips tank and a pair of heeled oxfords in an attempt to feminize the menswear-inspired cut of the jeans. Today, I tucked a loose, gray tee into my skinny jeans and let my black and white printed rain boots take center stage. I do admit that the right pair of jeans (when styled well) can be flattering and stylish. Besides, even Blair wears jeans once in awhile!

Photo Credit: 1

I already want a pair of distressed boyfriend jeans for spring, white skinnies for summer, and black denim leggings for fall! Any tips on how to transition to wearing jeans? Do you wear jeans?

- Mademoiselle Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    March 23, 2010 5:41 pm

    To be honest, I’m a huge fan of jeans. I don’t always wear them in the most chic way – but I definitely have observed some cute ways to don denim, and they all have to do with skinny jeans.
    1) Dark wash skinnies with cute sandals (think Grecian, studs, gold, etc.)
    2) Medium wash skinnies with black pumps
    3) Light wash skinnies with leather boots (chestnut toned)

    Hope that helps :) Skinny jeans feel less like denim anyways and more like a legging and/or second skin, so it might be helpful for transitioning. I also suggest colored denim which you referenced in your last post – white is great for summer, or I even suggest some bolder tones (I personally own pink and maroon myself)

    • March 23, 2010 5:43 pm

      Thanks! It seems like we’re on the same wavelength – I wore dark skinnies with Grecian studded sandals today! Thanks for the tips. :)

  2. dressdarling permalink
    March 30, 2010 4:59 pm

    I am very similar to you in style– i feel much more confident in Blair-eque outfits then jeans. My friends all make fun that I am allergic to pants, and in a way, it’s true! I do have four pairs that I wear, but I only wear each of them maybe once a month. I’d say that the way I love to wear my jeans best is with top that takes on a lot of attentions (bonus points if it’s very feminine) and flats. Good luck!

    http://www.dressdarling.wordpress.com

Trackbacks

  1. Topshop Loot: Frances Studded Sandal « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

