Skip to content

Wishlist: Leather Skirt

February 25, 2011

Greetings from sunny Florida! I’m typing this from the Palm Beach airport. After a week in Miami and Boynton Beach with my grandparents, we’re on our way home. I’d like to turn your attention to the photo below:

(Source: Jazzi McG)

I found this photo nearly two months ago on Jazzi McG’s blog and I’ve been totally obsessed ever since. Surprisingly, I’m not coveting her iconic Miu Miu Mary Janes (although I wouldn’t be too upset if they magically appeared on my doorstep), but her leather skirt. I figured it was from some high-end designer, probably several hundred dollars over my budget. When I found out it was by H&M, I immediately started stalking the skirt online. Unfortunately, nothing turned up.

In second grade, I fell head over heels in love with a blue pleather mini skirt I found at the mall and wore it to death. That was ten years ago. I don’t think I would be able to fit even one leg into it now, so I’m on a quest to find a new one. Last night, I spent an hour searching for the perfect replacement skirt. I think I’ve turned up some pretty good options. My requirements: black or camel, A-line, preferably pleated, ideally hitting right above the knee, and under $100. (In other words, the H&M skirt Jazzi is modeling above – it’s below the knee or her 5’0” frame, but it would be the perfect length on me.) Here are my picks:

Option 1: Zara, $99, zara.com. So, so, so gorgeous. This is definitely shorter and more body-conscious than I was originally looking for, but it’s beautiful. I like the styling here, too!

Option 2: Zara, $99, zara.com. The silhouette is great, but I’m not sure about the color. I’d prefer this to be a fall/winter skirt, not a spring/summer skirt.

Option 3: Sparkle & Fade, $89, Urban Outfitters. This could be my favorite! It also comes in black, although the black version didn’t photograph as well. I’d prefer an A-line circle skirt to a pencil skirt, but this looks so chic. Again, I love the white oxford with the leather skirt.

Option 4: BCBG Max Azria, $118, $74, Macy’s. I want to like this skirt, but something about it – the length, the fake tanned legs, the pleating, maybe? – takes away from the chic factor I’m looking for. I’d have to see this one in real life before making a decision.

Alice + Olivia, $495, Shopbop. (Kidding! If I’m going to spend $495 on anything leather, it’s going to be a Rebecca Minkoff bag, and only after eons of contemplation.)

Which skirt do you like the best? I’m in love with the first three – help me choose!

xoxo Hannah

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 25, 2011 2:44 pm

    I love skirts 1 and 3!!

  2. Morgan permalink
    February 25, 2011 10:50 pm

    The thing about brown leather is that it takes away from the harshness and potential skanky-ness of black leather (I love my black leather skirt, but there is a level of suggestiveness in its identity) and replaces it with rustic and chic versatility.

  3. February 25, 2011 10:59 pm

    Oh yay the one I voted for is winning so far :D

    PS blog post idea for novices like me: want to discuss what exactly words like ‘a-line’ ‘pencil’ ‘apple/pear shape’ etc. means? :)

  4. February 28, 2011 11:37 am

    SWOONing over here.

  5. March 17, 2011 11:03 pm

    These are gorgeous picks. I LOVE option 3…the color is beautiful, I may have to snag that one for myself! Oh, and it’s on sale now for $60..not bad.

Trackbacks

  1. Lookbook: Like a Fashion Blogger « Mademoiselle
  2. Lookbook: Grown Up (Or Something Like It) « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 78 other followers

