Skip to content

Lookbook: Welcome to the Sixties

September 27, 2011

Dress, vintage (via The Cure). Necklace, handmade. Nails, “Haymarket” (Nails, Inc.)

New York vintage shopping is made out to be legendary. The blogosphere is chock full of stories of bloggers digging tirelessly through their neighborhood vintage shops and emerging with designer dresses in mint condition. Given my proximity to an incredible vintage shop (The Cure, proceeds go to diabetes research) – all of fifteen steps away from my dorm – I had to give it a try.

I quickly discovered this little gem. Fresh out of the 1960s, this dress has an orchid boatneck top, a flattering natural waist, and a psychedelic floral print ballgown skirt complete with a tulle petticoat underneath! I was hesitant to try it on, fearing I would fall in love with such a completely ridiculous gown and not be able to tear myself away from it. I tried it on and… I was right. When I asked the salesman where I could possibly wear such a thing, his answer was beautiful: “Wear it everywhere. Wear it to the grocery store, wear it to bed, wear it to school. Honey, why wouldn’t you wear this dress everywhere?!”

The dress’s maiden voyage was to the Tibi show at Lincoln Center. I was running a few minutes late and had to sprint through the subway while holding up the long skirt to prevent it from dragging on the ground. I felt like Cinderella, trying to make it back home (or back to Fashion Week) by midnight! Once I got to Lincoln Center, the dress drew in street style photographers. If that’s not a sign of vintage’s true transformative power, then I don’t know what is.

Do you like to wear vintage? Do you know of any affordable vintage shops in NYC?

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Alycia permalink
    September 28, 2011 10:04 am

    I am completely in love with this dress!! There probably isn’t another one like it in the whole world. Congrats on a fantastic find!

  2. September 28, 2011 12:56 pm

    Hannah! I LOVE this dress!! The skirt is so gorgeous. And I agree with your salesman, wear this dress over and over and over! Is the cure one of the shops we visited?

  3. Chrissi permalink
    September 30, 2011 8:44 am

    I am in love!!!! That dress is amazing and you look so good in it! And hey, I always think, if you love, wear it. No point in hiding it in your closet, even if you do get some odd looks!

  4. Concerned dbag again permalink
    February 9, 2012 12:57 am

    This is a good find… For 2012 wear some sort of long floaty vintage coat over it, or you could even wear like a leather or jean jacket with this maybe… stop curling your ponytail, it makes you look like a daddy’s girl princess or something… and put your necklace on a longer chain (Ebay). OK I’ll stop harassing you now ;p

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 79 other followers

