Skip to content

New York: Highlights

January 3, 2010

I had the most wonderful weekend in New York. There’s something about the city – the lights, the constant flow of people down the sidewalks and through the stores, the overwhelming plethora of possibilities – that attracts me to it. I know for certain that I don’t want to live anywhere else. First NYU, maybe grad school at Columbia, then a tiny apartment crammed into SoHo in my twenties, a lovely wedding at the Brooklyn Botanical Gardens, and finally a luxurious apartment somewhere in the Upper East Side. I don’t ever want to leave!

The weekend’s highlights included:

This is a featured article. Click here for more information. Wandering around Greenwich Village and the NYU campus. I love, love, love Washington   Square Park and the surrounding neighborhood, so I sat against the fountain and enjoyed the   city. Not only is the park the unofficial campus of NYU, it’s also a place for all of New York to     gather, making it a great people-watching spot. A must-see if you’re visiting the city!

(source)

This is a featured article. Click here for more information. Shopping along Broadway in SoHo. Topshop, my absolute favorite store, was completely       packed. The entire second floor was dedicated to sales. I was able to snag a black lace longline bralet, marked down from $32 to $13. I was considering a gorgeous striped blazer, but couldn’t quite swallow the $110 price tag. I managed to find a classic black blazer at H&M later that day for half the price! I also bought a black bandage skirt – incredibly versatile and very chic.

This is a featured article. Click here for more information. I went to the Met to see the African art exhibit. The pieces have so much personality and character! I really loved the exhibit.

(source)

This is a featured article. Click here for more information. I met up with my friend from camp and her boyfriend, who is the heir to a famous international publishing company. It was totally surreal – he doesn’t walk or take the subway (why walk when you can be driven?), offers to pay for designer purses upwards of $200 without a second thought, and goes to parties with Teen Vogue models. He watches Gossip Girl and admits that his life is “a little bit” like what they show on TV. I’m sold.

This is a featured article. Click here for more information. Oh, Pinkberry. How delicious. I ordered the Original with strawberries, mangoes, and chocolate chips. It was cold, sweet, and decadent – what more could a girl want?

New York was fantastic. The more time I spend in the city, the more I know for certain that I want to be a New Yorker. I want to order cupcakes from Crumb, give tourists directions to navigate the subway system, and live walking distance from my favorite boutiques and coffee shops. Alas, I’m stuck in the suburbs for now, so I can only dream…

    No comments yet

    Leave a Reply

