Skip to content

Cynthia Steffe Fall 2010

February 15, 2010

Fall fashion has always held a certain appeal to me. Every August since Kindergarten, I’ve gone shopping for the trendy new pieces that would – if you were to believe the advertisements – make me the best-dressed girl the following month when school started. I clearly remember purchasing suede clogs the August before first grade, a crocheted poncho the August before fourth grade, and an Abercrombie polo before seventh grade, among several other sartorial mishaps. Fall fashion – in my mind, back-to-school shopping, really – is all about what’s new and exciting at the moment.

At the other end of the spectrum, however, fall fashion can be epitomized by the classic school girl-inspired look. I’ve always loved the traditional plaid skirts, knee socks, and Mary Janes that my friends in parochial school loathe. When worn with a backpack and pigtails, the look is obviously very juvenile. This season at Cynthia Steffe, however, the school girl look has never been more sophisticated.

(All photos from Style.com)

The collection had all the hallmarks of a fashionable school girl – patent leather Mary Janes, thigh high socks, and shift dresses with belted waists. Many of the dresses were layered over long-sleeve tees, cozy turtlenecks, or printed blouses to play up the academic feel, while other dresses were worn underneath spectacular fur vests and military-esque coats with fur-lined hoods for a more modern vibe. The neutral color palette (no green plaids here) and luxe materials such as leather and fur lent an air of sophistication to the collection, clearly emphasizing the fact that this look was not just for young girls; sheer cut-outs and thigh-skimming dresses remind viewers that the school girl is all grown up.

As I stalked Style.com’s iPhone app throughout New York Fashion Week, this collection clearly emerged as my favorite. The socks, Mary Janes, and berets are utterly charming; the chiffon prints, fur accents, and leather dresses are elegant and eye-catching; the smooth blow-outs and soft makeup are perfect for a daytime look; and I adore the silhouette. I was so enticed by the collection that I went on a mission to purchase thigh high socks that very day!

Thank you, Shaun Kearney (Cynthia Steffe’s creative director), for putting together such a lovely, inspiring collection.

Do you share my love for Cynthia Steffe’s fall collection? What’s your favorite collection from New York Fashion Week so far? Leave a comment and let me know!

Mademoiselle Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 19, 2010 7:35 am

    It may be weird, but the only thing I hate about my height (a mere 5’2″) is I’d look awful wearing those knee/thigh-high socks. I love them! And yes, I do share your love for the Cynthia Steffe’s fall collection, though this is the first time I’ve heard of the brand. Thanks for sharing! :)

    • February 19, 2010 10:43 am

      Cynthia Steffe also showed socks scrunched down below the knee or above the ankle. Just keep your body’s proportions in mind, modify the look as necessary, and you’ll be fine!

Trackbacks

  1. Bright Whimsy in Montreal « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

