Skip to content

How to Wear… the Spectrum Tie Skirt

March 24, 2010

One of my favorite recent purchases is the Spectrum Tie Skirt by Jack BB Dakota. High-waisted A-line skirts are nearly universally flattering, and this one is no exception! I adore the bright tribal print and wide bow at the waist. It’s already one of my favorite spring pieces. While I took a classic, preppy approach and paired mine with a white polo, black patent leather flats, and pearls, this skirt could be done in a wide variety of styles.

……………………………………………………


Skirt - Blair
Are you even surprised I chose to emulate Blair Waldorf for my first look? I fell in love with her style two summers ago and have been completely hooked since then. This silhouette reminds me of the gorgeous Alice + Olivia dress Blair wore in Season Two. If Blair were to wear the Spectrum Tie Skirt, she would pair it with a demure white blouse and red patent leather t-straps. She would accessorize with her trademark ruby ring, a bright headband, and pearl earrings. The result? A classy, feminine ensemble that looks absolutely darling.

Trendy - Skirt
……………………………………………….
I love this look! It reminds me of something a young Hollywood celebrity would wear while shopping on a sunny day. The ruffled tank, boyfriend blazer, and oversized sunnies keep the outfit modern, while the black accessories and blazer tone down the skirt. Suede pumps and a fantastic bag add a touch of luxury to the ensemble.
Skirt - M by MJThe bold blues and reds in the skirt reminded me so much of Marc by Marc Jacob’s S/S 2010 collection. Here’s my interpretation of the collection, using the skirt. The high-waisted silhouette, mash-up of bright colors, bow headband, and fuchsia lips were all inspired by the Marc by Marc Jacobs collection. (And the bag is even by M by MJ! I reviewed it here.)
…………………………………..
Let’s take a look at Marc by Marc Jacobs S/S 2010. It was one of my favorite spring collections. I’m in love with the playful mixed prints, strong primary colors, bows (natch) and the natural eye/bold lip combo. Here are my favorite looks:
…………………………………..
(All photos from Style.com.)
Marc, you make delicious clothes. Those bows need to make it into my closet maintenant, especially the striped one on Kori Richardson.
What are your thoughts on the Spectrum Tie Skirt? Do you love it as much as I do? Which look was your favorite? And isn’t the Marc by Marc Jacobs collection fantastic? Until next time…
– Mademoiselle Hannah
One Comment leave one →
  1. March 30, 2010 11:59 pm

    Wow, the first thing I thought when I saw Outfit 1 was “That looks like Blair.” I love her too!

    Can’t see myself wearing the skirt, but I love the way you mixed it up in several different styles :) Especially loving the boyfriend blazer in the trendy look.. I really want one!

Leave a Reply

