Skip to content

Lookbook: Waldorf in White

April 7, 2010

Perhaps it’s the Blair Waldorf enthusiast in me, but I can’t get Leighton Meester’s newest single out of my head. “Your Love’s a Drug” is my new favorite song. It’s infectious, catchy, and the perfect song to dance to. Do listen, I promise you’ll like it!

I chose to put together a Blair-inspired outfit today, based off of a gorgeous outfit she wore in season one.

The Inspiration

My take: Dress, BB Dakota Jack from 344. Scarf (worn as headband), vintage.

How did I do? I love LWDs – they put me in such a fun, summery mood. I like the ruffles up the front. In retrospect, I wish I had sized up to get a better length. Especially while sitting down, the dress was just a tad too short. (Note to all designers: Make longer dresses! Tall girls like myself would greatly appreciate it.) I thought the scarf added the perfect pop of color to the ensemble – I really should wear this as a headband more often!

My history teacher made a funny comment today: “Hannah, do you ever wear the same thing twice?” Of course I do! I wear my staples – a pink cashmere cardigan, black bandage skirt, white tank, and my favorite floral dress – usually at least once a week. I’m glad to know I mix up the rest of my outfits enough to make it look like I’m wearing something new everyday!

– Mademoiselle Hannah

9 Comments leave one →
  1. April 7, 2010 6:57 pm

    I love this look and think it works great on you! The only thing I think you need to complete it is a black accessory because the stockings add some sort of staple of black. Love it though.
    http://www.onceuponafad.blogspot.com

  2. April 8, 2010 5:42 pm

    Hi darling. first, i love that scarf/dress combo. very cute! second, question: maybe its because im a blogging n00b but how i dont know how to get the pictures of like different pieces of clothing all together in one picture…what program do you use for that? Im still stuck in the stone age with paint and could seriously use your help :)

    • April 8, 2010 7:21 pm

      I wrote back on your blog, but it just occurred to me – do you mean the two pictures together, like in this post, or in my other posts where I have a picture with various items grouped together? If you’re talking about the latter, I use Polyvore.com. It’s like a virtual closet where you can pull apparel and accessories from around the web and put them together all on one page. Super helpful!

      • Rhiannon permalink
        April 8, 2010 7:30 pm

        YESSS thats exactly what i mean. thank youuu i can do that haha

  3. April 8, 2010 7:38 pm

    No problem! Polyvore is incredible – so much fun to play around on. :)

  4. April 9, 2010 2:23 am

    i like your dress very much its beauitful! your history teacher reminds me of my friends asking me the same question! i have a post about it on my blog, about mixing and matching great post!!

    http://www.fashionprovocateur.wordpress.com/2010/04/06/my-best-kept-secrets/

  5. Anne permalink
    April 10, 2010 3:17 pm

    you look gorgeous, as a tall girl myself, i can feel your pain dress shopping can be rather frustrating, do you mind if i ask where you bought it from? thanx

    • April 10, 2010 3:58 pm

      Isn’t is frustrating? Despite the occasional length issues, dresses are still my favorite pieces to shop for!

      This dress is from 344, a small chain of boutiques in Boston and a few suburbs. (This one specifically came from their Wellesley location.) It’s by BB Dakota, but unfortunately, I don’t seem to be able to find it on their website.

Trackbacks

  1. Lookbook: Lace, Ruffles, and Bows « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

