Skip to content

Lookbook: Schoolgirl

April 12, 2010

Perhaps I resented not owning a plaid kilt like my private school friends; perhaps I simply found the timeless look charming. Whatever the reason, I’ve loved the typical school girl look and all it entails – preppy polos, kilts, knee socks, Mary Janes –  since I was a little girl. At one point, I believe I owned three blue and green plaid skirts in an attempt to replicate the look! Although at nearly seventeen I hardly qualify as a young schoolgirl anymore, I’ve continued to try to dress the part. What do you think?

Dress, Urban Outfitters. Polo, American Eagle. Flats, Jessica Simpson. Watch, Vintage. Earrings, a gift.

I really need to find a better way to display my shoes. The frame on my webcam isn’t large enough to get a good full body shot, so I either need to hold my shoes (thus letting the light reflect terribly off the patent leather) or stand in the corner (and suffer dark, orange lighting that is impossible to fix on iPhoto). The obvious solution would be to invest in a real camera, better lighting, or both, but love my webcam – it’s so quick and easy to use! Any other suggestions?

Now, let’s compare and contrast, shall we? What I wore above could be easily recognized as the classic schoolgirl ensemble – a preppy shift dress, white polo, and black flats. Timeless, youthful, adorable. Let’s compare this to my sister Julia modeling what she deems to be “the latest trends” in sixth grade:

Last time I checked, Jane Fonda had put away her workout gear back in the eighties. Clearly, the eleven-year-olds of this decade didn’t quite get the message. Take note of the neon spandex, lace, and even glitter (!) on the trim of the camis. While Julia had the good sense to never wear this out of the house (she bought the outfit to wear as part of her costume in her school play), apparently “all the cool kids” dress like this.

Horrified? Traumatized? Scared for our generation?

Me too.

– Mademoiselle Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sophie permalink
    April 12, 2010 4:29 pm

    julia could not be cuter… i just love that girl. and you looked SO classy today :)

Trackbacks

  1. A Sartorial History: Part I « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

