Skip to content

Lookbook: Madame

April 14, 2010

One of the earliest memories I have of my mother is her getting dressed to attend Parents’ Night the year I started Kindergarten. I was only five, but still remember her outfit – a long denim dress from the Gap. (It was 1998, okay? Not a great year for fashion.) Twelve years later, denim is a major spring trend and my mom is still looking chic! Check out what she wore to her Girls’ Night Out last night.

Jacket, Lisa’s Boutique. Skirt, Banana Republic. Necklace, vintage. Bow, mine. Tee, Banana Republic. Shoes, Sofft.

The base of her look is this muted floral print skirt and a simple white tee. She added dark red accessories, including my grandmother’s (her mother-in-law’s) necklace, a matching bow, and a pair of dark red slingbacks. To top off the look, she added a denim jacket.

We debated for a bit about whether or not she should wear the bow. Although I originally preferred the outfit with just the necklace, we agreed that the bow adds a fun, whimsical element to the look. (It seems like an affinity for bows runs in our family – check out the photo of my grandma wearing an adorable bow in 1958!)

When asked about the look, she said, “It’s inspired by my personal stylist, Hannah.” Awww…

xoxo Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Joanna permalink
    April 14, 2010 4:45 pm

    Your mother is so cute!! I love having mother-daughter style moments with my mom, too. :]

Leave a Reply

