Skip to content

Pour Mon Anniversaire, J’adorais…

April 17, 2010
As recently as last summer, I was afraid of growing up. I didn’t feel ready to leave home yet; I was still in the middle of high school and loving it, I was stressed out by the mere thought of the college application process, and I focused on enjoying what I termed “the last summer of my childhood.” I dreaded September, because it meant the start of junior year. I knew I would be inundated with tests and essays even on the first day back. I had heard horror stories from older friends about pulling all-nighters on a weekly basis to stay on top of school work, spending thousands of hours getting intimately acquainted with The American Pageant, and the stress of college visits and teacher recommendations.
………………………………………………………
As of this afternoon, third term of junior year is officially over. Throughout the course of the year, not only have I become best buddies with Bailey, Cohen, and Kennedy, but I’ve begun to look forward to the future. I can’t wait for the exciting opportunities I have lined up this summer, I can’t wait to start college, I can’t wait to become a real city girl someday. In short, I can’t wait to finish high school and start “real life”!
………………………………………………………………………………….
Each new day holds new opportunities. In just a few short days, I’ll turn seventeen. I’ll be celebrating in New York, and I can’t wait! Here’s my birthday wishlist – my essentials for starting a fresh, new year, if you will. Pour mon anniversaire, j’adorais…
birthday wishlist
First Row: Bikini, American Eagle, $25 each. Bag, Alexander Wang, $875.
Second Row: Oversized clutch, Valentino, $1995. Sunglasses, Chloé, $295. Mary Janes, Miu Miu, $590.
Third Row: Denim leggings, J Brand, $145. Tote, YSL, $1995. Wedges, Twelfth St. by Cynthia Vincent, $405. Maxi dress, Arden B, $88.
……………………………………….
(The Luella wedges are to die for. Anyone with an extra $405 lying around? The CV for Target wedges are sold out, and the Steve Maddens aren’t as cute – I want the real deal!)
……………………………………
Over the past year, I’ve begun to embrace the idea of growing up, moving out, and starting college. While I’m thrilled to have more independence and to experience new things, let’s not forget one of the best parts of starting fresh – a new wardrobe!
………………………………….
xoxo Hannah
One Comment leave one →
  1. Joanna permalink
    April 17, 2010 3:42 pm

    I know what you mean about studying, it just never ends!
    Speaking of which, I think you want the conditional tense of ‘adorer’ which would be ‘adorerais’. You’ve got the imperfect up there right now. ;]

Leave a Reply

