Skip to content

New York Photos: Part II

April 25, 2010

Yesterday, I posted photos of my trip to New York. I had too many photos to share with you all at once, so here’s the second installment. Enjoy!

Julia, my mom, and I in the Sculpture Garden at the MOMA. We’re all in black and gray – on the right track to dressing like New Yorkers?

I loved this! It’s a replica of the hedge sculpture in Edward Scissorhands.

Very interesting sculpture!

The view from the fifth floor café at the MOMA. Isn’t the architecture gorgeous?

We trekked all the way to Fred Flare!

The “real life” shop is every bit as a adorable as the online version.

I bought myself the Holly Golightly sleep mask! Utterly adorable, completely ridiculous. I’m sold.

Later that day, we went back to visit Aunt Karin, Dani, and Rose again. Here’s Rose with my mom.

They were given a personal chef for a day to make them a ton of meals so they wouldn’t have to worry about cooking while Rose is still a newborn. The meals looked delicious!

And a few more highlights:

15px-Cscr-featured.svg.png We saw the Night and Day exhibit at the FIT Museum. It was beautiful! It had pairs of couture (as well as a few non-designer) garments dating back to the eighteenth century to show the differences (or lack thereof, depending on the era) between day wear and evening wear. I especially loved seeing the gowns from the eighteenth century – there was so many intricate details in every garment. They were gorgeous; I wish people still dressed like that!

15px-Cscr-featured.svg.png One of the best parts of New York? The food! Check out the best restaurants we ate at in the city:

  • Via Quadronno: 25 E 73rd, between 5th and Madison. Just a block away from Central Park on the picturesque Upper East Side, this tiny café is world-renowned for its paninis, desserts, and exclusive clientele. I had an open-faced panini with tuna and artichoke hearts that was to die for!
  • City Bakery: 3 W 18th, between 5th and 6th. Yum, yum, yum – that’s all I can say! This buffet-style restaurant had the most incredible grilled veggies and fish, but the real show-stopper was the croissant for dessert. A definite must-see.
  • Rue 57: 60 W 57th and 6th. French bistro and sushi, can’t go wrong here! We ate here two nights in a row, that’s how good it is! Try the steaks; you won’t be disappointed!
  • Seven: 350 7th, between 29th and 30th. I ordered the salmon with ginger-coconut cauliflower and had their tiramisu for dessert. Both were excellent. (And it’s barely a block from FIT!)
  • Pinkberry: Do I even need an explanation? Delicious!

It was a fabulous week. I couldn’t have wished for a better birthday celebration! With a busy spring and summer ahead, I don’t know when I’ll be in New York next. I miss it already!

xoxo Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 11:15 am

    You got the eye mask at Fred Flare! It took you long enough; you’ve been eying that for months! I’m glad you had a great trip, I will definitely hit up some of these spots the next time I’m in New York :)

Trackbacks

  1. In List: April 2010 « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

