Skip to content

Missing Camp…

May 6, 2010

I had another post planned for today, but inspiration struck and I had to sit down immediately to write this one. Bear with me, okay?

For those of you that know me in real life, you may have heard me speak in high-pitched, excited tones about camp. I went to Hidden Valley as a camper from 2002 – 2007, plus an additional year as an AWAC (Awaiting Work as Counselor, HVC’s version of a CIT) in 2009. Over the years, I’ve collected quite the array of paraphernalia, including countless t-shirts, boxer shorts, a fleece vest commemorating my fifth summer, a t-shirt with the Taj Mahal screenprinted on it to commemorate my summer spent in the cabin Taj, stuffed toy llamas, brightly colored hackysacks, a handcrafted mug, seven Pine Grove candles, my glass bead, a Crazy Creek chair, among a lengthy list of other things. (I’ll stop here to avoid embarrassing myself.) I even special order five pound bags of granola (made by the camp’s fantastic chef, Lillian) every month and my favorite flavor of tea I discovered at camp, lemon ginger by Stash.

To put it mildly, I’m rather obsessed.

While looking through photos from last summer, I was inspired by the general aesthetic of what my fellow AWACs and I wore. It was a terribly rainy summer (the worst since 1908 in Maine!) and we all wore rainboots to the point where my campers’ feet blistered. To stay warm that summer, our uniforms consisted of leggings, oversized tees, oversized cardigans, rainboots, and lots of friendship bracelets.

Julia is going to camp in six weeks. I’m too old to be an AWAC and too young to be a counselor, so I won’t be joining her. I’m so sad to be missing out this summer (although I’ll visit twice!) that I was inspired to create a few outfits that would fit in perfectly. What do you think?

…………………………………..

Camp
…………………………………..
I lived in various versions of these looks for weeks. When you’re living with eight seven- and eight-year-olds, assisting classes, sorting mail, waitroning, running around camp, and lounging in the AWAC Shack after lights out, you want to be comfortable. These cozy outfits fit the bill perfectly. With summer just around the corner, I’m craving outfits just like these.
…………………………………..
What else did I wear at camp? Besides shorts and bikinis, newspaper was also high on my list. Every summer, my camp puts on a newspaper fashion show, with all the outfits designed by the campers. It’s one of my favorite events; the campers are creative and have great senses of humor. My campers dressed me up as a bride (complete with shoes and a veil!) and made their own bridesmaid costumes.
…………………………………..
…………………………………..
(Taken on the Rec Hall Field, with Tipi Village and Pine Grove behind us. Oh camp, how I miss you.)
…………………………………..
Thanks for letting me indulge in my little obsession. I can’t wait to go back to camp as a counselor in 2011. In the meantime, I’ll pour myself yet another mug of tea and reminisce about summer.
…………………………………..
xoxo Hannah
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Sophie permalink
    May 6, 2010 6:31 pm

    Hannah, this is by far my FAVORITE blog post, for obvious reasons. I can totally picture Juliana in the leggings and aviators, the bracelets are fantastic, and the rainboots? ADORABLE! I can’t wait to bring my own pair to HVC in 2011. :)

    • May 6, 2010 7:06 pm

      Hey, only 400 days until staff training. (I sound like SUCH a creeper, sorry!)

      Juliana is a styling lady. We shared clothes at camp. She was definitely part of the inspiration behind the first outfit – I’m glad you noticed!

  2. May 7, 2010 6:22 pm

    lovely post x

Leave a Reply

