Skip to content

Trend Alert: Maxi Dresses

May 10, 2010
Over the past few weeks, I’ve spent a ton of time on Newbury Street in Boston – trying new restaurants, window shopping, and assisting a photo shoot last weekend. Where better to spot quickly rising trends than Newbury Street?
………………….
Two weekends ago, my family ate at Tapeo, a yummy tapas place. The weather was hot, about eighty to eighty-five degrees at night. Sitting outdoors, I watched dozens of fashionably-dressed women go by. My favorite trend? Maxi dresses. I saw so many that  night, in all different colors and styles. Check out my take on the maxi dress:
……………………………………………………….
maxi dress……………………………………………………………..
I like this look best when paired with chunky wedges, a bold bracelet, and great sunglasses. I put together four different versions of this look, and I can’t decide which I like best!
……………………………………………………
The first one is definitely the most classic; this black maxi is a perfect alternative to the LBD, while the blush pink, rose gold, and black accessories give the outfit a feminine twist. The second outfit has a funky tribal feel and is the boldest of the four looks. I’m in love with the print on the dress! If you prefer a softer print, the floral maxi (third look) is a great option. I paired it with soft blue and white accessories to play up the fun side of the dress. The last look is saturated with color and is definitely a head-turner. I’m obsessed with the heart detail on the wedges. Could they be any cuter?
………………………………….
For more inspiration, check out how these stylish celebs wore this trend:
(source)
……………………………………………………..
My favorite celeb version is Nicole Richie – this trend meshes perfectly with her hippie/boho style. Do any of these celebrity looks inspire you to wear a maxi dress? What do you think of this trend? Do you own a maxi dress already? Are you hesitant to try out this look? Leave me a comment and let me know what you think!
………………………….
xoxo Hannah
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

