Skip to content

A Sartorial History: Part I

May 11, 2010

Currently, my style is defined by fun, feminine pieces – flirty mini-skirts, floral dresses, and lots of lace and ruffles. However, I didn’t always dress like this. Let’s go back ten years and look at my best outfits. As you scroll through the photos, keep in mind that none of these looks were for dress-up; I really did accessorize with stuffed monkeys and dress like Lizzie McGuire!

I really don’t know what to say about this one. At all. The abundance of scary purple objects in this photo (glasses, sweatpants!) make me cringe.

Here you have it, photographic evidence of me in pants and sneakers. (Gasp!)

First day of third grade. Wasn’t I a total fashion plate? I would count the number of awkward things about this photo, but there are just way, way too many.

Clearly, my style has not changed much at all in the past seven years. Pink floral dresses are still right up my alley. The only difference? Instead of my usual glass bead necklace or pearls, I chose to accessorize with clogs and a clay dolphin. Pretty classy.

Incidentally, I’m also wearing one of those black plastic choker necklaces that were so trendy in the 90s and clogs. This outfit could not be more ridiculous/fabulous if I tried.

Not only am I wearing the trendy plastic choker, but I also chose to accessorize with stuffed monkeys and salamanders! Let me further convey how ludicrous this outfit is by explaining that this photo was taken in the middle of winter at my dad’s birthday party. How’s that for “marching to the beat of your own drum”?

This was my absolute favorite outfit when I was little. It was inspired by Britney Spears’ “Baby One More Time” video, the one with the schoolgirl outfit. I wasn’t kidding when I told you I’ve always loved that look! (And again with the choker – what was it with that trend?)

The three of us are just as good friends as we were when this picture was taken nearly ten years ago. (And now we’re neighbors!)

You know, just a normal day at the park with my plastic choker and cat ears. No big deal.

This was my absolute favorite dress when I was younger. The Steve Madden platform shoes and shark tattoo (not visible here) make it all even better.

Surprisingly (unsurprisingly?) this isn’t a costume. I wore this to my ninth birthday party, complete with platform shoes.

To avoid bombarding you with photos, I’ll end here and save the next batch of ridiculous fashion moments for later.

What do you think? Which of my crazy get-ups is your favorite? Do you have any photos like these to share?

xoxo Hannah

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chiara permalink
    May 12, 2010 11:37 am

    The pink t-shirt with the hearts… I had the exact same one :)

Leave a Reply

