Skip to content

Reader Poll: Trashy or Fabulous?

May 12, 2010

Thanks to years of watching What Not to Wear, the concept of a pop of color in the form of a red shoe has been drilled into me. Stacy London is a major advocate of the red shoe, owning several pairs herself. The red shoe is bold, flirty, and powerful, and can be just as versatile as a black shoe. On the flip side, however, red heels – especially in patent leather – can sometimes hold the connotation of being more suited to those in less virtuous professions, if you catch my drift.

When I spotted these red patent leather Jessica Simpson pumps yesterday, I fell head over high heels in love. Instead of a garish red, this shoe is a more sophisticated shade of cranberry. I’ve never owned stilettos before in fear of the instability of a thin heel, but these are comfortable and easy to walk in. The versatile color, rounded toe and classic shape mean that I can wear these for years. Furthermore, I could pair them with a cocktail dress just as easily as a basic pair of jeans.

I could sing the praises of these shoes all day, but my mom says they’re trashy. Take a look and decide: trashy or fabulous?

xoxo Hannah

One Comment leave one →
  1. itssewmystyle permalink
    May 14, 2010 8:39 pm

    I think these are fabulous! You’re right about the cranberry color being more appropriate. If they had been cherry red, I’d agree with your mother.

Leave a Reply

