Skip to content

A Sartorial History: Part II

May 13, 2010

I had so much fun putting together my last post full of awkward fashion moments that I decided to do a second one! Check out the second edition. In these photos, I’m a little bit older, but not necessarily any wiser.

Note the purple clogs. (I was totally into the clog trend during the late 90s/early 00s. Now, not so much.) I was almost ten here and this was taken the same day as my first kiss. I was so shocked I actually slapped the boy! (I was still holding a grudge from when he pushed me off a sailboat when I was four.)

This is Julia, not me, but it’s too good not to post. She is fierce! Mixed prints, patterned tights, leopard print, sequins… is there any trend she isn’t wearing?

Here I am, rocking the boho trend in all my Limited Too glory. For once, Julia looks way more put together and stylish than I do. What happened?!

Just a few months after this photo was taken, I began sixth grade and my (short-lived) label obsession began. Paul Frank (pictured here), Abercrombie, North Face, Juicy Couture, Seven For All Mankind, and UGG were my favorite brands. (For the record, I won’t touch any of them now. Thank God my Aberzombie phase is over!) The one thing that hasn’t changed from this photo? Receiving handbags on my birthdays and being absolutely overjoyed. (Since then, however, my bags have upgraded from Limited Too!)

Let’s take a moment to pause and admire how freaking adorable Julia was! (And she’s wearing my floral halter top from the “Sartorial History: Part I” post!)

Just for the record, I didn’t always make the Worst-Dressed List as a kid. I wore this to my uncle and aunt’s wedding and loved this dress! From left to right: my beautiful Grandma Rose, my cousins Nathan and Alexander, me, my cousin Zoe, and Julia.

What sort of eleven-year-old wears metallic blue nail polish and pink suede Coach espadrilles (not unlike these Jimmy Choos!) to a graduation party? Oh right, that would be me… (And look, I was a proud wannabe-New Yorker even back then!)

Blinded by too many stripes. Unable to form coherent thoughts about this disaster…

I spent about three years in this outfit. So did every other middle schooler in the mid-2000s in the country! (The shoes aren’t mine, though – I borrowed them from my uncle. Just replace them with UGGs and that was my uniform!)

Head to toe Abercrombie and proud of it. (At least I was at the time!)

Stylish, classy, put-together… finally! I’m even wearing pearls! (Okay, they’re fake. I was only thirteen, I was giving it my best effort. Not bad, right?)

I’ll end this post on a high note and leave with a relatively sophisticated look. Stay tuned for Part III!

xoxo Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2010 5:59 pm

    I love this so much… makes me want to dig up some of my older pictures, although I have to admit I was a lot more fashionable as a youngster because my mom is way more stylish than I am and she dressed me well :)

  2. May 15, 2010 10:23 am

    This series of posts is a fabulous idea! I’m tempted to steal it :)

Leave a Reply

