Skip to content

Shopping Mission: Julia’s Bat Mitzvah

May 17, 2010

Calling all wannabe stylists: I need a dress!

Julia’s Bat Mitzvah is this October. My hunt for the perfect dress is already underway. Can you help me out? Here is my list of requirements:

1. First and foremost, I’m Julia’s older sister. I want to look like the glamorous older sister – elegant and sophisticated, without losing a sense of fun in the ensemble – while still keeping the spotlight on her. (After all, it’s her big day! Compare it to a wedding: the bridesmaids should never outshine the bride.)

2. At the same time, there’s a definite line between a guest dress (a cocktail dress I might wear to someone else’s formal event) and a host dress (this is our party; accordingly, we should stand out). While the guests attending Julia’s Bat Mitzvah will probably be in cocktail attire, our immediate family will probably wear something closer to black tie.

3. Short or long? I waver back and forth on this issue. If I wear a long dress, I’ll be able to get two wears out of the same dress – the Bat Mitzvah and prom. However, I’m not sure if I want to wear a floor-length gown to the Bat Mitzvah.

4. In terms of necklines: no one-shoulder dresses and nothing too low-cut or revealing.

5: In terms of color: My dad will be wearing a black suit and my mom will be wearing gold brocade. Julia has not chosen a dress yet, although she will probably wear a bright color. She likes pink and turquoise, but is open to other options. I would like my dress to fit in well with the other colors. Since this is a fall event, white and pastels are out. However, if I choose a long dress, I want it to be versatile enough to wear during the spring for prom.

6. No busy prints! They are distracting in formal photos.

Keeping those guidelines in mind, here are a few preliminary ideas:

Moschino Cheap and Chic, $100 on Rent the Runway: It’s been vetoed by my mom for being too low cut, but isn’t it gorgeous? I love the color!

Hervé Léger, $100 on RTR: The quintessential LBD. Classic, sophisticated, always in style. With some fabulous jewelry, this could definitely work.

ABS, $330. As much as I adore this dress, I recognized it as a Valentino knock-off right away, which makes me pretty sad. On principle, I’m against knock-offs, which rules out this lovely cocktail dress. If you can find another dress with a similar charm (but not a knock-off!) I would love to see it.

Max & Cleo, $198. Very, very classy. I like this online, but I’m not sure how it will look in real life. Will the white look too stark in the fall? Will the long black skirt look too heavy, especially in the spring if I wear this to prom? I think I have to try this on before I make a final verdict.

So far, I haven’t seen anything perfect. I’ve searched everywhere, even resorting to typing “dress” into ShopStyle and scrolling through pages and pages and pages. Help me out! If you see anything that even remotely fits my requirements, send it my way. Heard of a designer I might like? Let me know! I need to find a dress soon, and time is running out…

xoxo Hannah

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 12:04 pm

    Good post. I will bookmark your web and come again. please make a good ingo more,thanks a lot. I like shopping.

Leave a Reply

