Skip to content

Shopping Mission: Swimsuits

May 30, 2010

Summer is fast approaching, which can only mean one thing: it’s time to hit the beach! (Beach, lake, pool – which is your favorite?) My family goes to Maine for two weeks every summer and I’m definitely looking forward to swimming on our lake. My sights are already set on the next shopping mission: swimwear! For the past two summers, I’ve rotated in between my two favorite bathing suits, a retro black one-piece and a black ruffled bikini. While both are fine, I’m craving color! Check out a few of my latest favorites:

Inspiration: Swimwear

You’ve seen the inspiration, now it’s time to do a little shopping. Which of my picks is your favorite?

Aren’t these adorable? I’m not a big fan of American Eagle’s clothing, but their bathing suits are too cute!

Same with these. I love the little ruffles!

These Victoria Secret bikinis are great. Does the one on the right look too much like lingerie? It’s hard to tell from the photo, but I think I like it.

What do you think of my picks? Can you help me find the perfect swimsuit? I’m looking for a bright bikini, preferably with a bandeau or a string-style on top and something with a little more coverage on bottom. Any suggestions? What are you wearing this summer?

xoxo Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 11:25 am

    I love the pink/purple/orange one from Victoria’s Secret! I can definitely see you in it.

    I’ve actually been thinking a lot about swimwear lately, and I’m wondering if this summer I’ll be brave enough to try a bikini– I’m just worried that I’ll pick something unflattering to my body type, just because I’m terrible at judging that kind of stuff. Do you have any tips?

    • May 30, 2010 1:04 pm

      Check out this article by Her Campus. (Fabulous site, by the way!) It’s a great guide to picking out bathing suits that are flattering for your body. As a general rule, try to wear something with more coverage on your bigger half and can get away with less coverage on your smaller half. (For example, I’m pear-shaped, so I stay away from string bottoms but can wear string tops.) Happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

