Skip to content

Lookbook: Dramatic

June 7, 2010

I think my dad summed up my outfit best when he called it “dramatic”. I rarely wear this much black; add in studs, lace, and funky straps, and the drama becomes pretty apparent. Check it out:


Dress, MM Couture by Miss Me. Sleeveless cardigan, scarf, and ring: vintage.

My mom and her friend Cynthia spotted this dress on the $25 sale rack at Chrislee Boutique and had me run (literally!) from the house to try it on. I was glad I did! Even though it’s definitely a departure from what I usually wear – not a floral print in sight – I loved it! It has so many intriguing details, including the triple straps set diagonally across the shoulder, the studs down the front, and the bubble hem.

I wore it with all vintage, which I didn’t even realize until I sat down to write this. The sleeveless cardigan (last seen here) provided a little extra coverage to make the dress more appropriate for school. The lace made the dress feel a little more “me”, while still branching out into a slightly edgier look than what I’m used to. The scarf was borrowed from my mom’s silk scarf collection (thanks, Mom!) and the ring was my great-grandmother’s.

I’m leaving you with one last picture, accidentally taken while I was answering a text. It seemed like the perfect Gossip Girl-esque shot, which makes the famous Gossip Girl sign-off completely necessary:

You know you love me…

xoxo Gossip Girl

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 6:13 pm

    Love the last picture. Potential JHarb outfit? Although you probably already have something stunning planned!

    • June 7, 2010 6:44 pm

      Thanks! I’m actually wearing the polka dot dress I posted a couple weeks ago. JHarb is coming up soon! Getting excited?

      • June 7, 2010 7:22 pm

        Definitely! We’re gonna get funky! (Glee reference?)

      • June 7, 2010 8:54 pm

        Of course I got the Glee reference! Julia and I just watched the first two episodes. We’re going to see the whole first season, she hasn’t seen it before!

  2. Dad permalink
    June 8, 2010 7:18 pm

    LOUDEST PARTY EVERRR!!!

Leave a Reply

