Skip to content

Shake, Shimmy, Strut

June 21, 2010

When I was three years old, I took my first gymnastics class. It consisted of little more than running around a gym for an hour to burn off extra toddler energy, but I loved it nonetheless. Completely hooked, I gradually progressed from a one-hour class once a week to three-hour grueling workouts three times a week. Forward rolls turned into front tucks, handstands turned into handsprings, and (with the exception of one horrifically embarrassing detour into the world of horseback riding when I was seven), I rarely missed a practice. When I entered high school, I didn’t have enough time to continue gymnastics at my gym. Instead, I joined my high school’s team, which only practices during the winter. Gymnastics had been such a major component of my life for so long that it had become part of my identity; it was hard to give up the sport I had loved for so long.

Since then, I’ve cycled through different exercises. One day, I’m a total yoga addict. The next, I’m going on two hour bike rides through the woods. However, I’ve failed to be able to stick to a regular exercise routine for more than a few months. Nothing has been as natural and fun as gymnastics.

… Until tonight. I took my first Zumba class and loved it. Zumba is a combination of Latin dance and aerobics, which translates into fifty-five minutes of pumping music, non-stop dance, and a whole lot of fun! The instructor played a mix of pop and salsa remixes and demonstrated a series of approximately four dance steps for each song. The choreography was fast-paced but not too difficult to pick up. Even though the instructor was an incredible dancer, there was such a wide range of abilities in the class that it didn’t matter how quickly you got the choreography or how fast you were dancing.

I enjoyed the class so much because it didn’t feel like exercise! Sure, my heart was pounding like crazy and I was sweating, but the choreography was amazing. If you take a class (and you should!), get ready to shake, shimmy, and strut. At the end of the class, I felt a little bit like Beyoncé. (And who doesn’t want to be Beyoncé?) I’ll definitely be back for another Zumba class next week!

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. sophielondon19 permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:11 pm

    I’ve actually been meaning to get to one of those classes. My mom’s best friend actually goes to 2 classes every day- she’s so hooked! Let me know the next time you go and I’d gladly join you.

  2. Your Mom permalink
    June 21, 2010 9:34 pm

    Our cousin Francine also loves Zumba. She goes to big conferences on it. I’ll try it with you, but I can’t promise that I can keep up!

  3. Francine Selzer permalink
    June 22, 2010 4:57 pm

    Hannah, I love Zumba … A Zumba Party This is great the excitement of dance fitness of salasa,latin ,cumbia and dance moves allow people of any fittness or dance experience level to enjoy a great workout.from head to shoulder , hips, legs,feet, the entire body you use every muscle and joints within the Zumba dance workout. Have fun with Zumba.
    I am licensed Zumba, Zumba Gold and Zumbatomic.. I teach Zumba Gold and love it . Also , I have been taking Zumba classes , workshops and love it.
    Zumba is so much fun ,healthy happier.
    Francine (Zumba hugs &smiles)

Trackbacks

  1. Like A Certified Diva « MY CAUSE TO LIVE

Leave a Reply

