Skip to content

Lookbook: Intern, Day No. 2

June 23, 2010

I was interning at Daniela Corte’s studio again today. I’m really loving it there; working in her studio is great exposure to the fashion industry. (And it’s only my second day! I can’t imagine how much I’m going to learn all summer.)

Boston was hot today, but I managed to stay cool in this outfit:

Top, Topshop. Skirt, American Apparel. Belt, H&M. Necklace, vintage-inspired.

When I was a little girl, my favorite part of visiting my grandparents’ house in New York was spending the whole morning by myself with Grandma. We would tiptoe around the house before everyone else woke up, making fresh-squeezed orange juice and listening to our Rice Krispies “snap, crackle, and pop”. Some mornings, she even let me pick out a piece of her jewelry to wear for the day. Prancing around the house in her jewelry made me feel like a six-year-old princess! After she moved out of her house about eight years ago, her jewelry was packed up and some of it was lost. I was upset, especially so after she passed away two years ago. However, I found some of her jewelry with my Aunt in D.C. and she was kind enough to give me my favorite pieces of jewelry, including a crystal and gold chain.

The original piece is likely costume jewelry and after decades of wear, doesn’t shine like it used to. While the original was missing, my mom actually found a very similar one at Nordstrom and bought it. It’s one of my favorite pieces of jewelry now, and seemed like the perfect touch to my outfit today.

In addition to the necklace, I wore a blush pink tank with a ruffle detail at the neckline. The silhouette is almost A-line – it completely floats away from the body – so I balanced the silhouette with a form-fitting cotton pencil skirt. I was wearing black oxford heels this morning, but after a day of running up and down Newbury Street, I was glad to change into flats.

It’s been a busy week, but I’m so excited about everything that’s been happening. Stay tuned until next time… Ciao!

xoxo Hannah

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Mom permalink
    June 23, 2010 9:36 pm

    Great story, sweetie! Yes, I remember how much you loved Grandma’s Jewelry closet. Your favorite part of the huge old house.

  2. June 23, 2010 9:52 pm

    I have a strange request… I’m thinking about “lookbooking” my outfits for my summer program this Monday and I’m not quite sure how to go about it. Lookbook tutorial? Maybe? :) Please.

  3. emilylw permalink
    June 23, 2010 10:19 pm

    this is pretty irrelevant, but since you’re a Boston-er (or is it Bostonian? Bostonite?), i was wondering what the weather in Boston is like during the summer?

    i hail from northern california, so i’m used to hot but not too hot (around high 70s to low 80s) and not humid weather, and constant sun. is boston much different?

    • June 23, 2010 10:48 pm

      Bostonian. :) Boston typically has great summer weather – about the same temperature as what you’re used to, but it’s occasionally on the humid side. Also, it tends to rain for a few weeks in June. (Luckily we missed it this year!)

      xoxo Hannah

      • emilylw permalink
        June 23, 2010 11:21 pm

        thank you! you saved my life <33

  4. June 24, 2010 11:40 am

    I love that part about your grandma. (: It reminds me of my grandma and I too. So glad you found that piece you were looking for, your mum sounds really cool. ((:

    Love your blouse, its really sweet and classy! Great outfit :D

    Love,
    Gets

    http://wastedseventeen.blogspot.com

  5. June 25, 2010 2:20 pm

    I really like this outfit! Very chic, but you also look comfortable.

  6. Devon permalink
    June 26, 2010 10:15 am

    you look amazing, as always.

Leave a Reply

