Skip to content

Shopping Mission: Denim Leggings

June 27, 2010

Need a show-stopping cocktail dress? What about a fantastic bathing suit, or the perfect pair of winter boots? I’ll shop with you for hours and hours. But need a pair of jeans? I’m totally clueless.

I would wager a bet that I probably shop more than the average teenager. Nevertheless, finding the right pair of jeans is beyond me. I managed to buy my last pair of jeans only after stumbling into National Jean in Wellesley and trying on a good eighty percent of their merchandise, under the guidance of their sales associates. I finally ended up with a pair of dark wash, straight leg Citizens of Humanity jeans that I still adore. However, I would like to add another pair to my lonely collection of one.

After trying on a dozen pairs of J. Brands and Joe’s Jeans at the Barney’s outlet store yesterday, I returned home empty handed. I’m looking for the elusive, perfect pair of jeans. My requirements?

  • The darkest wash available, preferably black, for a sleek and versatile look.
  • A medium rise to avoid cutting off my hips at an awkward line – nothing too low.
  • I’m on a mission for denim leggings, although I’ve been told that it’s not a good look for my body shape. Can I still pull off denim leggings?
  • Budget: Around $100.

Next up on my list? Levi’s and Lucky Brand. I don’t know how many pairs I’ll have to try on before I find the right ones, but I do know that it will be well worth the effort once I do! Any shopping or fit suggestions?

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 7:18 am

    I actually LOVE Delia*s jeans. I’m usually the kind of girl to always checks with designers first, but Delia*s jeans have a great fit, come in all types of washes (including dark denim), and have inseams made to fit people of all sizes. I would definitely give them a try!

    I prefer the Morgan style, which is a skinny low rise. However, they just created a skinny low rise style called the Mallory, which I think would be perfect for you. Here is the link, hope this helps! http://store.delias.com/item.do?itemKey=158061

  2. June 29, 2010 5:35 pm

    my solution to everything… Madewell.

Leave a Reply

