Skip to content

Happy Fourth of July!

July 4, 2010

Happy Fourth! My family is spending the long weekend in scenic Maine. What a beautiful, beautiful state. I’m here so often I sometimes forget to appreciate how lovely it is, which is too bad!

Dress, Target. Wedges, Sam Edelman. Necklace, handmade. Bracelets: mix of handmade, vintage, and gifts from various places.

Instead of taking pictures indoors, I headed outside onto our porch. (You might not be able to tell from my lookbooks, but I occasionally leave the house, I promise!) It was pretty windy and gray, which unfortunately kills our water skiing plans for today. However, it’s the perfect backdrop for a red, white, and blue-themed photo shoot – perfect for the holiday! (Apologies for the minimal styling – I wasn’t planning to do a lookbook this weekend, so I only have what I packed with me!)

I picked up this dress at Target in Augusta, Maine yesterday on our way up to Hidden Valley to visit Julia. It was honestly one of the best days of my entire year. Not only did I get to see my favorite little snuggle-buggle (Julia!) after a week of being apart, but I got to spend seven hours walking around camp and catching up with people I haven’t seen all year. (Including my campers from last summer!) Hidden Valley has been my home away from home since I was nine years old and I can’t imagine my life without it. I have never felt happier, more peaceful, or more connected to a place in my entire life than I felt yesterday afternoon. I feel so lucky to have found such a wonderful environment.

Back to fashion: What are your thoughts on this dress? I usually dislike smocking on tube tops and strapless dresses, but I thought this little chambray number was too cute to pass up. The ruffles and buttons down the front are adorable and I like the floaty Empire silhouette. It’s definitely a step in a different direction for me – I don’t own anything chambray, strapless, or Empire-waisted! – but I like the casual summer vibe of this dress. Besides, how cute would it look for fall with a cardigan and a pair of suede boots? Perfect back-to-school outfit!

I hope everyone is having a relaxing Fourth of July!

xoxo Hannah

Leave a Reply

