Skip to content

Mission Accomplished!

July 4, 2010

When I posted my original shopping mission six weeks ago, a search for the perfect dress to wear to Julia’s upcoming Bat Mitzvah, I also posted a few preliminary ideas. I doubted that I would actually end up purchasing one of my four original ideas, but I actually did – and I LOVE it!

Ignore the wrinkles! I was going to Photoshop them out, but I didn’t want to distort the actual look of the fabric. The dress will be steamed before the big day.

Dress, ABS. Hair, blown out by Victoria at The Parlor in Wellesley, MA.

I had originally ruled this dress out because it’s a knockoff of the dress Lily Donaldson wore in the Valentino S/S 2010 RTW show. Still, I adored the flirty, playful mood of the dress, so I tried it on at Bloomingdale’s, anyways.

As soon as I tried it on, I fell completely in love with the dress. I literally started dancing around the dressing room! It fits all of my requirements: it’s glamorous and fun; will stand out in a crowd full of black cocktail dresses; not too revealing; and will look photograph well. Out of the dozens of dresses I’ve tried on these past few weeks, it’s the only dress that truly felt like me.

My parents aren’t too gung ho about the dress, but I’m crazy in love with it. What do you think?

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. prfarlow permalink
    July 4, 2010 11:00 am

    I like the dress, but if your parents don’t like it, do what I did when my parent’s didn’t like my clothes. Where something they like, then photoshop yourself into the clothes you want to be seen in later. I don’t think people actually pay attention to what you wear in real life anyway.

  2. July 4, 2010 11:01 am

    I love the dress but I don’t think the color agrees with your skin tone, and the top is too rouched for your beautiful shape. I say, “keep on looking”. Sorry :(

  3. July 4, 2010 12:13 pm

    I actually agree with your mom, Hannah. The dress is pretty but I think you can find a more flattering color. Still, if you’re happy with it, go for it!

    • July 4, 2010 12:18 pm

      It actually comes in black, but I’m not sure if I want to wear it in that color… We’ll see! Thanks for the input. :)

      xoxo Hannah

Leave a Reply

