Skip to content

On a Quest for the Perfect Bag

August 17, 2010
As I alluded to yesterday, I am in great need of two things: the perfect school tote and a personal assistant. After a highly productive morning at a coffee shop in Harvard Square, I’ve made a large dent in my to-do list, thus temporarily negating my need for a personal assistant. A brief scan of Polyvore led me to find six ideal school totes: large enough to fit notebooks, binders, and textbooks; sturdy; stylish. Their prices are rather less than perfect (the dove gray Marc Jacobs is $530, less than half of the next cheapest), but they provide lovely inspiration:
School totesTop row: Marc Jacobs, $530. Valentino, $1995. Proenza Schouler, $1595. Bottom row: Gucci, $1155. Louis Vuitton, $2490. Valentino, $2400.


This particular list of bags is unabashedly perfect. Each is completely stunning, lust-inducing, and worth giving up a year’s worth of dinner to afford. (Carrie Bradshaw once admitted to buying Vogue instead of meals.) I think my ideal tote would be the bow-embellished Valentino in the PS1 mulberry. Let the swooning commence. Perhaps I’m still in love with the Tory Burch tote I professed my love for way back in January?

The quest for the perfect affordable bag is not yet over. To be honest, it will likely never be over, but a girl can dream. I’ll be dreaming of a mulberry Valentino tied up in a bow. If you happen to find such a specimen for under $200, please let me know!

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 11:33 am

    Hey, I don’t know if you’ve been to the SYMS/Filene’s Basement in I think Westwood, but I went yesterday and they had a decent collection of bags for fairly cheap. Obviously not as designer and perfect as the ones you have here, but still really nice for the price. You could give that a try!

  2. Sarah MacFadden permalink
    August 17, 2010 11:53 am

    i know it’s ridiculously expensive, but the one on the top right is absolutely gorgeous-i’m lusting after it now

  3. August 18, 2010 12:07 am

    I’m sure you know of my bag-lusting tendencies; forget shoe closets – helloooo, walls of bags! I’d suggest going to your local TJ Maxx or Marshall’s for instant gratification. I’ve found many a b e a u t i f u l [designer!] bags at affordable prices. (;

    bises, xx

Leave a Reply

