Skip to content

One of Those Girls

August 18, 2010

(Source)

As I waited for the cute barista to make my iced chai at Starbucks this morning, my thoughts turned to shoes. I was taking a quick coffee break from my internship as I made my way to Barney’s, Saks, and Stuart Weitzman to return breathtakingly gorgeous heels. (For the record, I was carrying three shopping bags worth of shoes: two pairs of Jimmy Choos, a pair of Louboutins, a pair of Stuart Weitzmans, and – my personal favorite – a pair of red suede Pierre Hardy sandals. I was seriously considering quitting my internship and running away with all five pairs.)

When I began my internship nearly two months ago, one of my biggest concerns was running around in heels all day. Working comfortably in heels seemed like a genetic trait I was missing; I knew several women who wear heels day in and day out, so what was my problem? Was I wearing the wrong shoes? Were my feet simply not made for heels? (A horrific thought, I know.) I winced through the first day of my internship in my favorite black pumps and switched to flats on the train home.

Yet as I juggled my shopping bags to accommodate my chai latte, I realized that I had been wearing my four-inch blush pink platform sandals for the entire day, without a single blister, pinched toe, or aching arch. I had no trouble walking across the uneven brick sidewalks on Newbury Street, nor did I have any issue climbing stairs. I truly felt comfortable in heels.

I had to wonder: Have I become one of those girls who live in heels? It’s true, I wear heels approximately half the time now. I’ve amassed quite a collection, ranging from cherry red wedges to black oxfords and pumps, compared to my rather meager selection of flats. I’ve even learned to cope with my fear of towering above the majority of the population whenever I slip into anything more substantial than flip-flops.

Standing tall, I can now truthfully say I will miss wearing heels on a regular basis once my internship ends. Once school starts on September 1, my occasions for wearing heels will dwindle down to the occasional holiday dinner or family event here or there. I tend to push the limits of what’s acceptable school attire as it is – (I loathe hearing, “Why are you so dressed up today?”) – so wearing heels to school isn’t a likely decision.

I’m proud to say I’ve become one of those girls I used to envy for their ability to wear heels day in and day out. Now that I’ve caught the shoe bug, I don’t want to make the switch back to flats! Dearest fashion industry, I will miss you and all your perks (pun intended) when I go back to my less glamorous life as a high school student this fall. You have me hooked!

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Your Mom permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:27 pm

    In my high school years – early-80’s – women DID wear heels to school. Check out pics of the Buffalo sandal and Candlies! Everyone wore them (except Me! ‘cuz my Mom wasn’t as cool as your Mom)

    Love, Mom

  2. August 18, 2010 10:57 pm

    I hated getting the “why are you so dressed up?” too. Luckily a lot more seems to be acceptable in college… If only I could be a heels kind of girl too.

  3. Katrina permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:49 am

    I used to get “Why are you so dressed up?” all the time in high school. While at my small, private, liberal arts school, the question has simply changed to “Are you teaching today?” or “Do you have your internship today?” Over time, I have come to just ignore anyone who makes comments like that. Why does it matter to them that I enjoy getting prettied up, and that it makes me happy? Don’t let anyone else dictate what you want to wear! Wouldn’t you rather look overdressed than underdressed?

  4. August 26, 2010 2:20 am

    A+ would read again

Leave a Reply

