Skip to content

Lookbook: Ruffles and Lace and Frills, Oh My!

August 19, 2010

After a two week vacation on Great East Lake, I came home on Sunday night and received the most wonderful coming home present on my doorstep: the “Sweet Little Somethings” Dress from Modcloth! I originally raved about the dress from afar here; now that I actually own it, I love it even more.

Dress, Modcloth. Leather jacket, Pimkie. Socks, American Apparel. Sandals, Steve Madden. Rings, vintage.

This is undoubtedly the prissiest dress I own. Pink? Check. Polka dots? Check. Ruffles? Check. Lace? Check. Bow? Check. Honestly, could you get any frillier than that? I doubt it. To balance out the prissiness, I added black cable knit knee socks and a leather jacket. I think the total effect is something like Blair meets Serena, Season 1.

While this look was far too warm for the weather, I loved wearing the socks! I bought them this past February in Montreal, but I’ve only worn them once or twice since then. Hopefully I’ll get a lot more mileage out of them this fall.

I finally got around to updating my header. It’s a close-up of a beautiful mosaic at camp. What do you think?

This past week has been so crazy, I’ve barely been able to sit down for more than five minutes! Between school work (summer reading essays and a current events log), interning five days a week, gymnastics practices, and meetings, all I want to do this weekend is take a bubble bath and drink some tea. I’m looking forward to it!

xoxo Hannah

9 Comments leave one →
  1. August 19, 2010 8:53 pm

    Pretty! I think the socks will look great in the fall, but I honestly am not feeling the leather jacket. I get what you were going for, but I think it takes away from some of the prettiness of the dress. And I love those rings! The new header is awesome too- I like the color.

    • August 19, 2010 9:25 pm

      Thanks for the feedback! I agree, the jacket might not be perfect. Maybe a light cardigan instead?

      xoxo Hannah

      • August 19, 2010 10:39 pm

        Yeah, that might work! Though the cardigan definitely shouldn’t be reminiscent of Pleasantville. That would do the opposite of adding edge :)

  2. Brittany permalink
    August 19, 2010 9:04 pm

    SO. BEAUTIFUL. ;______; OH GOD I WANT THAT.

  3. August 19, 2010 9:26 pm

    Love the dress, love the header, agree with Sarah about not really feeling the leather jacket, adore the socks/sandals combination. You’re pretty. :)

  4. i love you... :) permalink
    August 21, 2010 7:07 am

    instead of the leather jacket, you could try a structured, boxy military-esque jacket. or completely leave out the jacket and go for a very structured bag with lots of clasps, etc. MEOW i love you… GUESS WHO? i’m sorry im annoying :)

  5. September 1, 2010 4:26 am

    hi there hows it going

Leave a Reply

