Skip to content

Review: NYC’s Flat Iron Green

August 24, 2010

My first post about nail polish (Essie’s stunning Fall 2010 collection) set me off a nail polish obsession: I began reading nail blogs, obsessively researching all my favorite shades, and even buying a few cheap ones at CVS. I’ve decided to take my obsession public, with a short polish review!

NYC’s Flat Iron Green:

My swatch is above. The color appears close to black, but it definitely has a gorgeous green cast to it. In the right lighting, it looks like a dark olive. Although it’s been compared to NARS Zulu, I wouldn’t call it a dupe at all. Zulu is more of a forest or emerald green, at least from what I can see online.

I can see this color working fabulously well with the military trend. It could also be an intriguing complement to leopard prints, this season’s greige, and camel. (Can you tell I’ve been poring over every inch of Elle‘s September issue, which mentions all four of the aforementioned trends? Multi-part review/tribute to come!)

This polish’s application was slightly thin at first, although it thickened up after I shook the bottle between coats. After two coats, I was quite satisfied with the intensity of the color. The application was smooth, even for a nail-rookie like myself. For only $3.99 at CVS, it’s quite the steal!

Verdict: I can see this color working beautifully throughout the fall and winter, and it is such a unique shade. If you’re a fan of dark polishes, go, go, get it before it’s gone!

xoxo Hannah

One Comment leave one →
  1. Janie Weiss permalink
    December 27, 2010 7:35 pm

    3.99?
    Wow. I just picked up this polish for 1.72 at Target and often buy NYC in a minute polishes at Walmart for the same price.

Leave a Reply

