Skip to content

Read-Along Guide to Elle’s September 2010 Issue: Part 1

August 27, 2010

Elle US is by far one of my favorite magazines. Although I’m only a recent convert (Glamour and Seventeen used to be my bread and butter), I’ve fallen completely in love with the sophisticated yet relatable tone of the magazine. When the September issue hit newsstands, I knew I had to have it.

For the past week, I’ve waited until I’ve finished all my work – internships, gymnastics practice, summer reading essays, phone calls, and more! – before crawling into bed with my beloved copy of Elle and my journal. I’ve diligently recorded my thoughts, comments and potentially over-the-top praise and compiled them into a laughably long list to share with you. I present you with the Read-Along Guide to Elle‘s September 2010 Issue: Part 1, to be read in conjunction with the cover – page 226. So grab your copy of Elle and read along with me; if you don’t have your own issue, hopefully my notes will fill you in on the best of what the magazine has to offer!


The Cover: While the rest of the September issues have vibrantly-colored covers, I adore the simplistic black, white, and red color scheme on Elle‘s cover. Julia looks radiant!

Louis Vuitton ad: Although this ad has been out for awhile, I still love it. Beautiful clothing, beautiful models, beautiful photography. The image of three glamorous women simply lounging backstage is so inspiring!

David Yurman ad: Kate Moss can do no wrong. She looks stunning, as always. Isn’t that necklace divine?

Guess ad: This fifties-inspired shoot is just too cute! I especially love the eye makeup and headscarves. (The Elvis impersonator isn’t too shabby, either.)

Fendi ad: Above all else, just this one ad alone makes me want to be a Fendi girl.

Dolce & Gabbana ad: Goodness gracious. Scarlet Johansson, Marilyn-esque hair, the most incredible makeup, dark crimson nails, and a leopard print blanket. In love.

Jones NY ad: I’ve never been a Jones New York fan, but the setting of this ad is lovely. The train station’s incredible architecture reminds me of these photos on Cupcakes & Cashmere.

Page 60: The “Happy Labor Day” cocktail sounds delicious! (I’d do it as a mocktail – skip the tequila and St-Germain.) The recipe:

  • “2 oz. Herradura Tequila
  • 1/4 oz. lime juice
  • 3/4 oz. grapefruit juice
  • 3/4 oz. St-Germain
  • 1/4 oz. simple syrup

Combine all ingredients, shake, and strain into an old-fashioned class filled with ice. Drink. Repeat!”


Ports 1961 ad: Where do I even begin? The metallic shift dress, the beaded and sequined belt, the matching headband, the mauve lipstick… Ports 1961 is incredible.

Tommy Hilfiger ad: See it here – I’m obsessed! The ad is overwhelmingly preppy and posh, with a slight ’70’s twist. (Think tons of camel, cable-knit, burgundy, popped collars, cashmere, leather penny loafers, scrunched socks, and plaid.) I’m currently in back-to-school mode, which tends to bring out my prepster tendencies. Bring on the knee socks!

White House Black Market ad:

To the lovers of the 4-inch and 4 figure heel, to everyone whose dreams are made-to-measure, to all those who’ve spent their savings to pay for their wallets, there’s a new way to feel beautiful. White House | Black Market.

Heeeeello! That’s me right there. I don’t know if White House Black Market is the answer to all my problems, but I love the text of this ad!

Juicy Couture ad: With the exception of a few velour hoodies in middle school, I’ve never shopped at Juicy. In my mind, at least, the brand is so irreparably tied to its tracksuits. But I adore the vibe of their ads – the just “I stumbled upon this fabulously eccentric elderly lady’s yard sale with all of my attractive friends” look. Even if I don’t care much for their clothing, I admire their ads!

Page 164: Natasha Clark reviews Juliet, Anne Fortier’s modern twist on the classic love story. I loved reading the original Romeo and Juliet, so I’m adding this to my reading list!

Page 175: I’m obsessed with purple nails right now. Sephora by OPI’s “Just a Little Dangerous” looks so perfect! It’s grape purple with just a hint of shimmer, the ideal alternative to the dark, plummy purple (NYC’s “Plaza Plumberry”) I’ve been wearing all week.

Page 178: Ugh, Bebe. There’s an enormous Bebe ad right by the train station (and, more importantly, right outside Neiman’s!)  in Copley Square, so I see this ad all the time. I can’t get over how they blatantly copied Prada’s S/S 10 hair and makeup. (Although, the pigtails and glossy orange lip look tacky here, not chic!)

Page 183: This Ray-Ban ad is so much fun!

Page 186: Here is Elle‘s masthead! Watch out, Elle: my name will be there one day!

Page 195: This Miss Dior Chérie ad is fantastic. I love everything about it, from the pink coat to the wide-eyed little French girl, to the oversized perfume bottle tied up in a silver bow. Now I’m intrigued, what sort of fragrance is Chérie? Sephora says,

“Notes of chic, green tangerine, violette, and pink jasmine mingle with soft patchouli, musk, and delectably sweet strawberry leaves and caramelized popcorn for a delicious scent that’s truly irresistible.”

I’m in the market for a new perfume – maybe this one is it!

Page 196: What a wonderful quote from Robert Myers. I included this one in my sidebar:

“There’s as much romance in coming to New York and fighting your way up in the world of work as there is in the dance between (or among) the sexes after work.”

Roberta Myers’ Editor’s Letters are just one of the (many) reasons I prize Elle above every other magazine. I could read her writing all day.

Page 198: One of my biggest pet peeves is the notion that an interest in fashion and intelligence are mutually exclusive. Not so! Elle reader Michelle wrote in,

“I have Prada shoes, an IQ of 147, and a college education.”

Amen, sister!

Page 210: Diane von Furstenberg is fantastic. Enough said.

Page 214: I love Joe Zee’s shoe fixation. He’s a man after my own heart!

Page 226: The feature on Opening Ceremony definitely piqued my interest. They popularized Topshop in the U.S., which makes practically makes them the arbiter of cool. Definitely a must-shop next time I’m in New York!

(All content produced by Elle US and scanned by yours truly.)

That wraps up the first installment of my read-along guide! Look out for Parts 2 – 5 coming soon…

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 8:28 pm

    I have the Dior Cherie perfume and I absolutely love it. I always saved the perfume samples of it from magazines becacuse it was my favorite and my dad bought me a bottle for my birthday :D I use it very sparingly though.

  2. August 30, 2010 1:50 pm

    Just finished reading the issue this weekend at the beach, so I am definitely looking forward to your reviews! Oh and I totally agree with you about the WHBM ad- it so describes me too! And I am loving purple nails as well. I tend to go with a more plum color, but I ADORE the sephora by OPI ad!

Trackbacks

  1. Read-Along Guide to Elle’s September 2010 Issue: Part 3 « Mademoiselle
  2. Biggest Glittery Promise « Mademoiselle
  3. Read-Along Guide to Elle’s September 2010 Issue: Part 2 « OPULUXELtd.com LIFESTYLE===}}{{=== DESIGN

Leave a Reply

