Skip to content

Read-Along Guide to Elle’s September 2010 Issue: Part 4

September 7, 2010

Moving right along! I’m almost eighty percent through the magazine, although the the bulk of the content is in this section. This issue is packed full of insightful essays, gorgeous spreads, and lovely photography. I’ve diligently recorded my thoughts, comments and potentially over-the-top praise and compiled them into a laughably long list to share with you. I present you with the Read-Along Guide to Elle‘s September 2010 Issue: Part 4, to be read in conjunction with page 394 – page 484. So grab your copy of Elle and read along with me; if you don’t have your own issue, hopefully my notes will fill you in on the best of what the magazine has to offer! Previous installments of this series can be found here (Part 1), here (Part 2), and here (Part 3).

Page 394: Ah, the requisite “hot guy” page. This issue’s page is dedicated to Josh Duhamel. Confession: I was first introduced to Josh Duhamel via J-14‘s yearly calendar of the best-looking celebrities in 2004. (I was eleven. Thanks to J-14, I had an entire wall plastered with Orlando Bloom posters – I’m not talking about a few over-sized photos, I mean a legitimate shrine.) While I understand the focus of the article is supposed to be his appearance, don’t you think a full page describing how gorgeous and manly he is is over-kill? If a men’s magazine dedicated columns and columns to a woman’s appearance, we would find it degrading. Why isn’t the opposite true? Integrity, ladies!

Page 401 – 402: Copper eye shadow and just a touch of plum on the lips – unbelievably gorgeous! Dior A/W 2010.

Page 406: Dick Page’s globe-trotting-inspired eye palettes are so interesting! He photographed scenes from around the world and then used those colors to create trios of eye shadow. The strata-inspired chocolate, copper, and dove gray palette is my favorite.

Page 422: Pure DKNY by Donna Karan sounds amazing: Ugandan vanilla, lotus flower, Bulgarian rose, heart of orchid, jasmine, freesia, white amber, and sandalwood!


Page 428: Rachel Rosenblit’s “Short Story” explores the emotional power of wearing heels. While Rachel feels as if her height necessitates heels, I often feel like I tower over my family and friends in anything other than flats. If Rachel ultimately came to the conclusion that she doesn’t need to be strapped into heels 24/7, then I can indulge in heels whenever I like. This story is a major confidence booster, no matter what your height!

Page 434: Stila’s One Step Correct reduces redness, brightens skin tones, and minimizes the appearance of pores, all for $36. (Miracle worker? Yes!)

Page 436: “Till Whatever Do Us Part” sums up my exact thoughts on marriage. It’s a commitment, not something temporary! My parents just celebrated their twenty-first anniversary last week; I couldn’t think of better role models for a relationship.


Page 444: Oh my God. This woman is a dream come true. Deb Lloyd, Kate Spade’s Creative Director, is wearing leopard print pumps with bows and hosting an incredible dinner party filled with fabulous friends and Thai food in her gorgeous Brooklyn apartment. Must add her to my inspiration list!

Page 446: Her recipe for Peach-Ginger Salad sounds right up my alley!

4 tbsp rice vinegar, 1 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1 tbsp dry sherry, 1/2 tsp dried chili flakes, 5 – 6 peaches, 1 bag of arugula, crystallized ginger: Mix together rice vinegar, olive oil, soy sauce, lemon juice, sherry, and chili flakes. Cut peaches into medium-size slices and skewer onto kebab sticks. Marinate for 2 hours in the dressing. Grill slices on high heat for 6 to 8 minutes until they’re golden but still firm. Place peaches on a bed of arugula and sprinkle with chopped crystallized ginger. Drizzle salad with any remaining dressing.

Page 456: Jill Ajao says that she wants her children to develop an internal locus of control, yet she claims her testosterone addiction wrecked her marriage, lost her job, and almost put her in jail. How can she reconcile these two opposing ideas?

Page 458: Daphne Merkin’s essay “The Rich Aren’t Like You and Me” focuses on the stigma associated with wealth. As an unpaid intern with no current source of income and an affinity for outrageously expensive bags, I find this essay absolutely fascinating. It’s so wonderfully thought-provoking and insightful – one of Elle‘s best!

Page 468: Oh my God, E. Jean is incredible.I love that she can honestly use the phrase, “As one of my ex-husbands used to say…” How many ex-husbands can one woman have? (If you’re Lily van der Woodsen, at least five.)

Page 475: This photo of Julia Roberts reminds me of Jessica Quirk (congrats!) of What I Wore’s 1960’s-inspired photo shoot with From Me to You. Gorgeous hair and makeup!

Page 478: Lace blouse + pencil skirt + Mary Janes = stunning.


Page 482: I need that gown. A wedding dress, perhaps? (Several consecutive hours of Say Yes to the Dress episodes have left me on the lookout for the perfect wedding dress!)

Page 484: What a beautiful jacket! Interning at Daniela’s studio has truly given me an appreciation for textiles; I’m especially partial to gorgeous printed silks, like this jacket.

Merci beaucoup for reading Part 4! This series has been rather time-consuming to put together; if nothing else, I’ve learned how to properly use a scanner. If you can boast of making it to the ends of my mammoth read-along guides, gold stars for you! This star symbolizes the featured content on Wikipedia.

Part 5 coming up soon…

xoxo Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 10:17 pm

    i LOVE your september issue outline!! so awesome– way better then any outline we ever had for school :) God how gorgeous is Josh Duhamel?!

  2. November 14, 2010 12:49 pm

    eye shadows can really make a great looking face specially if it was done by a professional make up artist ;`,

Leave a Reply

