Skip to content

Milly S/S 2010

September 16, 2010

I may have preached the benefits of pushing your usual fashion boundaries yesterday, but I’ll always have a soft spot for bright, ladylike styles. Perhaps it’s my Gossip Girl influence – I cite Eric Daman as a major influence on the development of my own style – but tailored basics in beautiful textiles, preppy neutrals accented with pops of red, and chic outerwear just make me smile. I’ve always been a fan of Milly’s feminine aesthetic, and this season is no exception. It was beautiful!

In English class, we’ve been discussing Nietzsche’s philosophy of classifying everything – art, literature, actions – as either Apollonian or Dionysian. While that’s fine, I prefer a simpler classification system for fashion: which Gossip Girl character does it most resemble? Milly is the perfect intersection between Blair and Lily. It’s sophisticated, but still retains a playful vibe.

The key colors are candy apple red, various shades of green, and pops of yellow and purple, laid over a classic palette of black and white. Never one to shy away from prints, Milly goes head-to-toe with pieces all done in the same print. Patent leather and crocodile accessories add a luxe element that leaves me swooning. (Especially the bag in the second look, it reminds me of my Ellen Allen bag!) Waist-cinching belts, chunky jewelry, and pointy toe pumps complete the look.

I caught up on the Milly collection while watching Project Runway‘s “modern-day Jackie O” challenge. While I didn’t truly love many of the Project Runway outfits, Milly hit all the right notes. She created a flawless collection that is worthy of aspiring gossip girls and Jackie O’s alike!

Now that NYFW is done for the season (Boston Fashion Week is coming up soon!), which collections were your favorites? Do you like Milly’s collection? Are you feeling the GG/Jackie O aesthetic?

xoxo Hannah

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2010 11:41 pm

    The green jacket looks so much like a jacket Blair wore!! Beautiful collection for sure.

Leave a Reply

