Skip to content

Boston Fashion Week: Done!

October 3, 2010

After a week of fantastic fashion and fun (amazing alliteration, am I right?), Boston Fashion Week is over. This was my first (and with college less than a year away, likely my last) BFW. I loved it! It was an incredible experience, and I feel so fortunate to have had the opportunity to participate.

First, I met up with Her Campus beauty blogger Chrissy at the Hello Stiletto party at the Elie Tahari store! We chatted about Her Campus, college (she’s graduating early from Brandeis this December – congrats, Chrissy!!), traveling, and the gorgeous Elie Tahari clothing and accessories. I have my eye on a stunning leather shift dress; it’s such a modern twist on the classic LBD.

After Elie Tahari, I had a quick dinner with my mom before we went out to Daniela Corte’s show! After seeing her clothes and swimwear in the studio all summer, it was thrilling to see them on the runway. Additionally, there were several dresses that were designed after I had left in late August, which was a fun surprise!

Some of my favorite looks from the runway included a backless gold lamé gown with a deep V in front (if it sounds a little over-the-top, it is – but in the most amazing way possible!) and the following looks, all from her promotional booklets that I actually helped put together on my first day as an intern:

The show had two themes: “Warrior” represented the clothing, while “Pin-Up” represented the swimwear. What I love about Daniela’s work is that she knows exactly who she designs for: someone bold, sexy, powerful, and fun. Her clothing definitely conveys this image, which made for an exciting show! The models truly looked fierce.

I was so excited to attend the show as a guest, rather than working backstage. But ironically, I knew a ton of people backstage (not just Daniela, but everyone who worked in her studio plus a few of the dressers and models I knew from other BFW events) and only one other guest – my mom. I snuck backstage twice to chat with Carmen and Estela, two of the sweetest women I’ve ever worked with, and actually felt more comfortable there rather than at the party before the show started. The grass in always greener on the other side, right?

I could not have asked for a better first Fashion Week experience. Lately, the question, “Is it better to be a big fish in a small pond or a small fish in a big pond?” has been on my mind a lot. Of course, I’m starting out as a very small fish in a small pond, but the experience has equipped me with so much more knowledge and insight into this industry than I could have gotten in a city like NYC. If you’re interested in any aspect of the industry, I definitely recommend getting involved with Fashion Week in your city!

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 3, 2010 3:47 pm

    Looks unbelievable. I’m so jealous that you know your dream and you’re following it. I have yet to find mine… wish me luck!

  2. October 3, 2010 9:10 pm

    Sounds like a lot of fun. I’m sad I missed my local fashion week because I was on holidays. But I’ll be there in the spring for sure.

  3. October 3, 2010 9:41 pm

    Ok 1. You look phenom in that dress!! It is perfect for you. 2. The promotonial booklet images are amazing and it is so cool that you got to help with those. 3. I am really happy for you that you had such a great fashion week experience! I’m sure it is just the first of many!!
    Bisous.

  4. October 5, 2010 1:38 pm

    I had such a fab time at the event, Hannah! So glad we got to check out the amazing clothes together :) xo

Leave a Reply

