Skip to content

Styling Tips du Jour

October 10, 2010

A few favorite styling tips I’ve been loving lately…

Throw a denim jacket over a girly dress. I’ve had an aversion to denim jackets since my mom bought hers from Gap almost a decade ago. But now, I’m starting to see the appeal in taking the priss factor out of some of my favorite dresses with that same Gap jacket. I blogged this look here; pairing my orange dress with the jacket has quickly become my go-to outfit.

When in doubt, wear knee socks. Cher Horowitz, Blair Waldorf, Rachel Berry – this look has quite the pop culture repertoire to back it up. Seriously, they’re obscenely cozy. They work perfectly on those brisk fall days that don’t quite warrant tights but aren’t warm enough for bare legs, either. Mine are from American Apparel; I probably wear mine way too often!

Glitz and glam work for day and night.I recently bought a super-glitzy headband from the Nordstrom hair accessories department (by far one of my favorite places to shop!) to glam up my look for Julia’s Bat Mitzvah. Rhinestones, crystals, sequins – if there’s a shiny something that makes you happy, wear it! It adds such a fun, Beyoncé-esque vibe to your outfit.

You can (almost) never wear too much leopard print. I’m all for prints on prints, if you have the confidence to rock the look. (I doubled up on the leopard prints today with a cardigan and scarf.) Just check yourself in the mirror to make sure you don’t look like a crazy cat-obsessed lady – unfortunately, there is a point where the print can overwhelm you!

Tie a scarf around the handle of your bag. I tie printed silk or chiffon scarves around the handles of my bags. It’s such an effortless way to add personality to your ensemble. So chic!

Shake up your makeup routine. I never used to wear anything on my lips except for chapstick, but I’m totally in love with Laura Mercier’s “Baked Earth” lipstick right now. Laura Mercier’s website describes the color as a “warm brown/red”. The shade works well with my coloring, and the formula (slightly sheer and glossy) is absolutely divine. The lesson? Take a makeup risk and try something new – you might fall in love with it.

(Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5)

Do you have any styling tips you’re loving lately? What are they?

xoxo Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2010 10:28 pm

    Yay, knee socks! :) My tip- when in doubt, add a hat. Not always practical for class, but outside of school it’s simple and sophisticated way to update your outfit.

  2. October 11, 2010 9:29 am

    Great post Hannah! I love wearing my denim jacket with dresses. It allows me to wear some of my favorite sundresses into the fall. You covered most of the styling tips I’ve been living by lately, but I would also add to be daring with your shoe choice. We all know accessories can totally make the outfit, and shoes are an easy way to add an element of glitz and glam to any outfit.

Leave a Reply

