Skip to content

Bat Mitzvah Recap!

October 18, 2010

Hello again! Remember me, I used to blog here on a regular basis? I’m back!

Julia’s Bat Mitzvah was this past weekend and I had a blast! Here’s just a quick rundown of the weekend:

  • Thursday night: My cousins came up from Maryland for a late dinner. We only see each other about once or twice a year, but we always have so much fun together! It was such a great opportunity to catch up.
  • Friday morning and afternoon: My cousin Nathan is also a senior, so I tagged along as he visited BU and Tufts. Between tours, we ate at Noodle Street on Comm Ave. near BU. If you’re ever in the area, try their pad thai – so good!
  • Friday night: The first Bat Mitzvah event of the weekend! We hosted a dinner of about thirty out-of-town relatives and friends. Again, it was great catching up with people I don’t normally get to see. The electricity actually went out twice during the dinner, thanks to a rainstorm, which was a fun surprise.
  • Saturday afternoon: This was the actual service of the Bat Mitzvah. Julia led the service beautifully. Her D’var Torah (a speech she wrote and delivered about her thoughts on her Torah portion) was great – it was funny, thoughtful, and kept the crowd entertained. Just like her!
  • Saturday night: Immediately after the service, we had cocktail hour and the reception. I loved it! Julia had an amazing time; my dinner table (a mixture of cousins from both sides of the family and friends) was a lot of fun; I danced for hours, including dances with my three-year-old cousin Dani and my grandpa; Julia begged me to sing a karaoke duet of “Don’t Go Breaking My Heart” together; I gave a speech about what makes Julia so wonderful (hint: everything!); and overall, had an amazing time.
  • Sunday morning: By this point, we were all a little exhausted! We hosted a brunch for about fifty out-of-town relatives and friends as a way of finishing off the weekend’s festivities. Cue the coffee, cupcakes, leftover Bat Mitzvah cake, dozens of bagels, multiple fruit platters, etc. At this rate, we’ll all be eating bagels for months! It was sad to see everyone go. We’re already planning a family reunion!

Oh, and one of the best parts? I wore Hervé Léger… thank you, Rent the Runway!

Julia wore feetie pajamas:

Just kidding – this was her present from her “triplet” older sisters, me and my two oldest friends. We’ve known each other since we were toddlers. The three of us bought her polka dot feetie pajamas with a matching Snuggie (not pictured). So cute and snuggly!

Since that wasn’t a “real” blog post, I thought I’d leave you with one of my favorite trends:Circle ScarvesTop row: Barja, Donna Karan, ModCloth. Bottom row: All ModCloth.

Circle scarves seem like the perfect addition to fall/winter outfits lacking that oomph factor. Their shape means no tying necessary. Just slip one on and go! They’re like the neckwear equivalent of dresses, a cute little package all in one. (Excuse the half-senseless analogy. It makes sense, I swear!)

xoxo Hannah


4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 3:38 pm

    Sounds like you had a wonderful weekend celebrating your sister! Your dress is gorgeous, too, and I totally agree with you on circle scarves! Definitely need one for the season.

  2. October 18, 2010 3:50 pm

    Love the circle scarves! I’ve been craving one too.

    And it sounds like you had such a fun weekend with your family/friends in honor of your sister. Congrats to Julia!

  3. October 19, 2010 2:26 pm

    Glad the Bat Mitzvah was such a success!! And yes, now I’m craving a circle scarf too!

  4. October 19, 2010 8:36 pm

    you’re so gorgeous!! and Julia is such a cutie pie :) congrats, sweetie <3

Leave a Reply

