Skip to content

Wanderlust

October 24, 2010
(Source)

I have a sudden desire to pack up everything I own and move to Paris. I want to visit museums, sit in cafés, stroll through gardens, read Guy de Maupassant, listen to Édith Piaf, indulge in éclairs, ride le Metro, call myself Coco, meet des garçons. The city would be beautiful this time of year. (Of course, isn’t it always beautiful?)

Unfortunately, the transportation strike in France would make the trip nearly impossible and I can’t quite leave the country in the midst of my senior year. There’s also the matter of plane tickets, which currently cost upwards of $2500 from Logan to Charles de Gaulle.

For now, I’ll sing “La Marseillaise” to myself and study for an upcoming French test. Suburban Massachusetts is a far cry from the historic beauty of Paris, but I’ll make it work. After all, my favorite café is just five minutes away…

À tout à l’heure!

Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2010 10:11 am

    “This is what you do on your very first day in Paris. You get yourself, not a drizzle, but some honest-to-goodness rain, and you find yourself someone really nice and drive her through the Bois de Boulogne in a taxi. The rain’s very important. That’s when Paris smells its sweetest. It’s the damp chestnut trees.” – Sabrina

    I’d love to go too.

    I feel you with the airline strikes, though. I spent 15 hours in Charles de Gaulle a few months ago and they wouldn’t say when the delay would end so I was stuck in the airport.

    Just stumbled across your blog and I’m really enjoying it. Your photos are fun.

    • October 24, 2010 10:37 am

      That quote is wonderful, thanks for sharing! On my last day in Paris seven years ago, it poured the entire day. It was absolutely fantastic. I felt like a real française!

      xoxo Hannah

  2. October 25, 2010 10:16 pm

    I’m ALWAYS dreaming of escaping to Paris. I feel like its one of the few places on earth where it really is as romantic and beatiful as in the pictures. You should study abroad there if you get the opportunity!

  3. October 27, 2010 10:05 pm

    I want to go back soooo bad!

Leave a Reply

