Skip to content

Lookbook: Mini-Me

October 28, 2010


On Julia: Top, American Apparel (from my closet!). Skirt, Arizona. Socks, Gap. Flats, Halogen. On Me: Polo, Juicy Couture. Skirt, J. Crew. Tights, Zara. Boots, Blondo.

One of my first memories of Julia is her following me around, trying to do everything that I did. She’s played Monkey See, Monkey Do since she was just a toddler. Whether consciously or unconsciously, she’s started to dress like me, too. Although Julia and I could hardly be more different, our styles overlap. Between the knee socks (I wore mine here, here, and just about everywhere else this fall) and the identical poses, she looks just like my mini-me.

This skirt is a new favorite of mine. I originally spotted the J. Crew Atomic Tweed Mini in bright orange – even more fabulous in person, if that’s possible – at the Copley Mall in August. I had an in-depth discussion with one of their amazing stylists about how it reminded him of psychedelic Chanel on acid. (He was wearing a chambray shirt, a red gingham bow-tie, a tweed blazer, and vintage glasses. I wanted to hug him.) Although I didn’t buy the Atomic skirt, I was hooked on J. Crew tweed. When I found this skirt, I was sold.

The boots are from a Canadian company, Blondo. I visited Montreal in February, so I know how cold it can get – I swear, these boots would keep me warm there! I wanted a pair of classic black riding boots; these fit the bill perfectly. The simple, unfussy style (not to mention the waterproof finish) will keep me coming back to these for years. To borrow a phrase from Rachel Zoe, they’re bananas.

What are your recent purchases? Have you found your ideal fall/winter boots yet? Leave links – I’d love to see them!

On a separate note, I only hope I can be this cool when I’m ninety-eight. [Advanced Style]

xoxo Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 29, 2010 10:50 pm

    my little sister & i have seen our styles start to blend together over the last couple of years. it’s fun to be able to share clothes! i love a bright tweed skirt too, Proenza Schouler did some really cool ones in their last runway show :)

  2. November 1, 2010 1:24 pm

    Sooo cute! I wish I had a little sister, but I’ll keep my wonderful little brother!

Leave a Reply

