Skip to content

Styling Tips du Jour

November 6, 2010

Hello, I’m back!! I’ve had such awful blogger’s block for the past week, but the ideas are pouring in now. It’s only been three weeks since my last Styling Tips post, but with such a rapid change in weather, it’s time for a second edition.

Cuddle up in a cashmere sweater: My oversized cashmere sweater is my go-to “lazy” piece. It’s obscenely comfortable and goes with everything else I own. Seriously, if you invest in one piece, make it a cashmere sweater! My beloved pink cashmere cardigan held up through four years of religious wear before developing a teeny, tiny hole in the elbow. Truly money well spent.

Back to black: After a full spring and summer of bright colors, I finally started seeing the appeal of head-to-toe neutrals. Black is especially chic. Infuse your dark ensemble with girly pieces (I’m currently obsessed with my black floral A-line skirt) to avoid looking too severe.


Pop of prep: Perhaps it’s my proximity to Martha’s Vineyard or my affinity for J. Crew and SATC‘s Charlotte York, but I have a soft spot for anything with a bit of preppy flair. I like layering polos under boxy sweaters so just the collar peeks out. I’m convinced that if Blair was ever sick and resorted to a shapeless sweater, this is how she would wear it.

Be confident: Seriously, this girl is awesome.

Photo Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

What are your current favorite styling tips?

xoxo Hannah

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 11:29 pm

    Aw, these are all fab tips! At first when I saw the black tip picture I was like “Please no – she can’t be a tights with shorts fan!” are you? Hehe. :) Cute blog!

    -Cass

  2. November 8, 2010 11:15 am

    Great tips! I just picked up my first cashmere sweater and I am so excited for it to arrive!! And I agree that black is just so chic!

Leave a Reply

