Skip to content

A Woman’s Right to Shoes

November 16, 2010

In one of my favorite Sex and the City episodes, “A Woman’s Right to Shoes”, Carrie’s $485 silver Manolo Blahnik sandals are stolen at a friend’s party. When Carrie asks the host to reimburse her for the stolen sandals, her friend “shoe-shames” her for wasting such an exorbitant amount of money on shoes. Ultimately, Carrie defends “a woman’s right to shoes” with what has to be my favorite line of all time:

“The fact is, sometimes it’s really hard to walk in a single woman’s shoes. That’s why we need really special ones now and then to make the walk a little more fun.” – Carrie Bradshaw

I whole-heartedly agree. While I don’t believe a man is the key to happiness, I do believe in the transformative power of a great pair of shoes. On days when I need a little extra pick-me-up, glittery sandals or bright pink pumps put a spring in my step and a smile on my face. So, single ladies, indulge a little. Step into your tallest pumps, your brightest sandals, your most luxurious boots. Remember, you deserve your “right to shoes!”

xoxo Hannah

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 10:19 pm

    This post made me think of Beyonce. ‘Nuff said.

  2. Dad permalink
    November 16, 2010 10:22 pm

    I asked Hannah: “So your saying that shoes are more important than men.”

    She said no, providing a pretty weak rationalization. But when she was three years old, she planned and participated in elaborate princess wedding ceremonies with fabulous clothes and no prince.

    • November 16, 2010 10:24 pm

      Shoes aren’t more important than men, but – at least right now – they’re a much more reliable source of happiness. You can hang out with high school boys and then judge for yourself. They’re not wildly impressive.

  3. November 16, 2010 10:40 pm

    Hannah you are so fabulous, and right on with this post. Men are wonderful once you find a good one, but until then why not let shoes be your love :)

    P.S. That quote is my fb status right now!

    • November 16, 2010 10:45 pm

      Thank you, Laura! I agree – when they’re great, they’re great; when they’re not, shoes are always fabulous.

      Why aren’t we Facebook friends yet?! I searched for your name but couldn’t find you. Friend me! (Hannah Orenstein.)

  4. November 17, 2010 1:58 am

    It’s definitely all about the shoe for me. Shoes make me feel better than buying anything else. I have a great boyfriend too though. :)

  5. November 17, 2010 1:45 pm

    I requested you on facebook Hannah :) My name is Laura Channing on FB though, which is probably why you couldn’t find me!

  6. November 27, 2010 2:01 pm

    It’s probably one of my favorite episodes ever! I do agree on every word you’ve written ;-)

Leave a Reply

