Skip to content

New York Highlights

November 22, 2010

I usually stay in my great-uncle’s apartment when I’m in New York. This is the view from his living room window! Seriously, as often as I see it, it never gets old. It’s almost like getting a hug from the city whenever I walk into the apartment. Sunrise is especially gorgeous!

Here I am outside Patricia Field’s boutique. Field was the costume designer for Sex and the City, so I expected the store to resemble Carrie’s closet: a little eclectic, sometimes a little kitschy, but completely fabulous. So wrong! Instead, the store was filled with stripper stilettos, tiny gold lamé thongs, and too many rhinestones. Not really my scene, but it was still a fun place to see.

By far one of the coolest parts of the trip! Eva Chen, Director of Beauty and Health, gave me a tour of Teen Vogue. I’ve had a career crush on her since I started following her on Twitter over the summer, so having the opportunity to sit down and chat with her was amazing. She even introduced me to all the editors, showed me the fashion closet, the accessories department, the art department (picture a girl laying out fifty different swatches of pink paint to decide which is best for the cover title), and Anna Wintour’s copy of “the book” – yes, it exists outside The Devil Wears Prada! To everyone at Teen Vogue, thank you for such a wonderful tour.

I went to the Quidditch World Cup. No, I’m not kidding, and yes, it was the most incredible sight I’ve ever seen. I’ve never been interested in sports, but I could definitely see myself getting into Quidditch! It’s like a combination of soccer, football, and dodgeball, with a constant stream of Harry Potter jokes thrown in for good measure. Amazing!

Other highlights included:

  • Seven (350 7th Ave) – Delicious restaurant in the Garment District! Try it for lunch or dinner.
  • Bergdorf Goodman (754 5th Ave) – I tried on my first pair of Louboutins. Cue angels singing and my feet feeling right at home.
  • Callalilai (827 Broadway) – This boutique is like a more free-spirited, boho version of Anthropologie stocked in rainbow colors. Gorgeous!
  • Rice to Riches (37 Spring) – Ice cream parlor-style restaurant that exclusively serves rice pudding. What a genius concept!
  • Topshop (Broadway & Broome) – You didn’t think I’d mention it? Obsessed.
  • Visiting my friend Denise! She’s starting up a gorgeous jewelry line and showed me a few pieces. She is so talented!
  • Rubin Museum (150 W 17th St) – This Tibetan art museum totally blew me away. Definitely stop by if you’re in the neighborhood!
  • Visiting family – The morning before we came back to Boston, we visited some family, including my cutie-pie cousins Dani and Rosie.

All in all, a very successful trip! New York is such a magical city where anything can (and will) happen. I’m already counting the days until I’ll be back.

xoxo Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. bagnidilucca permalink
    November 22, 2010 7:26 pm

    What a great photo of Central Park. I would like to stay in that apartment too.

  2. November 22, 2010 8:56 pm

    Lovely photo and you look adorable too! Sounds like a wonderful trip. I bet those loubs felt great!

Trackbacks

  1. Fierce Black Booties « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

