Skip to content

Party Dresses for the Holidays

November 24, 2010

It’s official, the holidays are here. Happy Thanksgiving! Between now and New Year’s Eve, there seem to be a slew of holiday parties, birthdays, and – last night, anyways – homecoming! It’s time to put on your favorite party dress, start dancing, and maybe even find someone under the mistletoe. I’ve been wearing my go-to pink leopard dress almost non-stop since I bought it from Kembrel over the summer, but I might invest in a second holiday-worthy dress this year. Here are my twelve favorites:

Under $100:

holiday party dresses 1

Top row: Miss Selfridge, Miss Selfridge, Topshop. Bottom row: Lipsy, Modcloth, Jane Norman.

I usually balk at the idea of buying a dress just for the holidays, but these flirty frocks are versatile enough to wear more than once. The navy velvet studded dress on the bottom right is calling my name! Right now, I really like the idea of styling these dresses with big hair and big lashes, à la Brigitte Bardot. Go big or go home, right?

Splurge:

holiday party dresses 2

Top row: Thakoon, Matthew Williamson, Diane von Furstenberg. Bottom row: L’Agence, Milly, Alice + Olivia.

Looking to splurge? Here are my six favorite picks. With dresses like these, there’s no excuse to blend into the background. Skip basic black and opt for sequins, leather, and silk.

What will you be wearing this holiday season?

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 10:23 am

    Splurge please :)
    Any from the top row would do me xxx
    Gorgeous x

    Lucy

  2. November 24, 2010 11:18 am

    Bahaha – how much do I love that asmallinsight’s profile picture is the pink heel that Hannah has? Too much. :)
    Awesome dresses! I especially love the cream-colored one in the Splurge section. ;)

    -Cass

  3. November 24, 2010 3:26 pm

    Oh how I love holiday party dresses! I totally agree with you that it can seem silly to purchase a one-time occasion dress, but the frocks you selected are totally rewearable! I love the strapless blue number from the steals section and the one shouldered dress from the splurge!

    Thanks so much for your very sweet comment on my recent post! It made my day to get a comment not only about fashion, but about my writing :) Especially from someone whose writing I adore!

  4. November 25, 2010 12:44 am

    I love the Lipsy and DVF dresses! I want to go shopping! :/

  5. November 25, 2010 3:27 pm

    Wow I already can picture myself getting to the New Year’s Eve party wearing the golden lace dress from the splurge section. I would love it!

Leave a Reply

