Skip to content

And Then, Thanksgiving Got Really Classy

November 25, 2010

Pre-Thanksgiving: Julia and I are all decked out for Thanksgiving in our favorite fall outfits. Minutes later, we blasted Frank Sinatra music and started swing dancing. The scrapes on my legs are from an especially graceful moment on Tuesday night while leaving my house for homecoming. My friend Emma wasn’t so sure about walking down the four concrete steps in front of my house in heels. “Don’t worry, you’ll be fine! I go down stairs in heels all the time, it’s not a problem.” Of course, not even a full five seconds after I said that, I misplaced my foot on the top step and tumbled straight down the stairs. My ego was slightly injured, but I’m fine.

One of the best parts of Thanksgiving is seeing family. Even though my cousin Jake and Aunt Karen (pictured above) live just a mile away, we don’t have dinner together as often as I’d like to, so tonight was great!

Julia watched football with my Uncle Bob (center) and Grandpa (right). Go Pats! (Earlier that day, I attended my first-ever football game, the Needham-Wellesley Thanksgiving game. The rivalry has been going strong since 1882 – the longest-running public high school football rivalry in the country – and I loved the game! The Rockets won and I bought a vintage Rockets cheerleading sweater as a memento.)

Even Thunder got into the holiday spirit! Well, he’s about as spirited as he gets.

And then, Thanksgiving got really classy:

Cranberry sauce from a can!

A spoon-balancing contest!

After everyone left and the kitchen was cleaned up, Julia and I finished off the night with the latest episode of Glee. It’s completely bizarre to think that next Thanksgiving, I’ll be returning home from college. It’s a big, new step for me, but I can’t wait. Until then, I’ll be (mostly) content to finish out my senior year here in Needham. Just the past few days alone (homecoming, a hot tub party, my first football game, two waffle breakfasts with my neighbors and oldest friends, Thanksgiving) have reminded me that I have so much here to appreciate – and for that, I’m thankful!

Happy Thanksgiving. How was your holiday?

xoxo Hannah

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 7:46 pm

    OH MAN. Julia’s looking sexy.

    And I love your orange dress.

    Go rockets!

    • November 25, 2010 11:37 pm

      Your Julia comment makes me just a tad uncomfortable. She’s twelve! She’s my baby! She is so adorable! Please hold off on the sexy comments for at least another forty years.

  2. November 25, 2010 8:13 pm

    lovely lovely pictures!!! :)

  3. November 25, 2010 10:58 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving! I especially love the picture with the cranberry sauce upside down. :)

  4. November 26, 2010 12:20 pm

    Cranberry sauce – ahaha. :) You and your sister look absolutely adorable! Love both of your dresses!
    Sounds like a fun Thanksgiving. :)

    -Cass

  5. November 26, 2010 1:19 pm

    It looks like you had so much fun! Love your dress :) xoxo

  6. November 29, 2010 9:18 pm

    Love both of your outfits! Looks like you had a blast for Thanksgiving!

Trackbacks

  1. Mad Men on the Bowery « Mademoiselle

Leave a Reply

