Skip to content

Lookbook: Joy-Inducing

November 29, 2010

On a recent visit to a friend’s apartment in Manhattan, she pulled a fur Thakoon hat out of her closet and modeled it for me. It was unbelievably fantastic and her face lit up when she put in on. Sure, it might be a tad impractical for daily wear, but it made her happy. And when it comes down to it, isn’t that what fashion is all about?

I have found my Thakoon hat. I have found something just as lovely and joy-inducing and possibly not meant for the “real world.” It’s a leopard-print faux fur jacket and I’m head over heels in love.

Coat, Aqua. Skirt, H&M. Tights, Topshop.

I abstained from Black Friday and felt good about saving my money for something more important, like holiday gifts. (Or, you know, college. Take your pick.) But on Sunday, I found myself staring at four racks of 40% Aqua at Bloomingdale’s. With prices like those, who can resist? I knew this coat needed to be mine from the minute I saw it from across the store. It’s cozy and plush, has a wide shawl collar and pockets, and happened to be the only one left in stock. Considering my obsession with leopard print and my interest in faux fur, I’m pretty sure it was fate.

Since I stumbled on this style nirvana yesterday afternoon, I haven’t taken off this outfit. Here I am with Julia last night. I’m dressed up, she’s dressed like a Christmas elf. (Why, yes, that is a polka dot Snuggie.)

Forgive me if this coat is the only item to appear on this blog for the rest of eternity. I don’t want to ever take it off!

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 7:02 am

    That leopard print fur jacket is probably the most amazing jacket I’ve seen in a long long time. I’m not quite brave enough to wear a fur jacket (real or not!) and the weather here in Australia is far too hot, but you look quite adorable in the jacket. And I want it. :)

  2. December 1, 2010 1:21 pm

    ahhh love the jacket! and Julia looks as cute as ever!

  3. Alexandra permalink
    December 1, 2010 8:43 pm

    i love that last picture. too cute and so funny!!

  4. brittany permalink
    December 2, 2010 7:02 am

    Ah, whenever I see you in those boots, I fall a little more in love with them *___*

  5. December 11, 2010 8:03 pm

    FRICKEN ADORABLE. What do you mean it’s not for the real world? YOU ROCK THAT COAT. I love it. Love love love it.

Leave a Reply

