Skip to content

Fashion Fail: Texting Gloves

December 1, 2010

DKNY PR Girl is one of my favorite people on Twitter, hands down. In addition to tweeting tidbits from her glamorous life in Manhattan and live-tweeting Gossip Girl every week, she also spouts the wonders of DKNY cashmere texting gloves on a regular basis. They’re fingerless gloves with a removable mitten top so you can easily text during the cold winter without removing your gloves. Considering that Boston is submerged in frigid winters for months at a time and my affinity for texting, I knew I had to get my hands on a pair. (Or, rather, a pair on my hands.) When I saw a similar pair at Urban Outfitters this weekend, I snapped them up.

This mini photoshoot is après la gymnastique, excuse the t-shirt and hair! First, I tried the gloves on with the mitten tops for warmth.

Next, I pulled the mitten tops off and buttoned them back. I tried to text, but…

I text with my thumbs. So does everyone else. How do I text with my thumbs if my thumbs are the only fingers these gloves actually cover? What’s the point of letting your fingers get cold and blocking all use of your thumbs? I tried the gloves on while I was at Urban, but it never actually occurred to me to try texting with them until tonight. I did a little investigation online and discovered that true texting gloves have a slit in the thumbs. These do not. I’m afraid to cut slits myself because the gloves would unravel.

On the bright side, these gloves keep my hands warm on cold nights full of homework!

(Note the purple gloves, purple notebook, and purple pen… I’m obsessed. I also happen to own five purple sweaters, two purple dresses, and a purple skirt. It’s the color of royalty, n’est pas?)

Last week, I chatted with my friend Ali Berlin on her radio show about winter fashion. I met Ali when I interviewed her for Her Campus, so this time, the tables were turned – she interviewed me! We discussed winter fashion (yes, including texting gloves!), fashion blogging, and exploring personal style. Ali is so lovely and I had such a great experience recording with her. Click here to hear the show or subscribe to Ali’s free podcast by searching “Alive With Ali Berlin” on iTunes!

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    December 2, 2010 12:21 am

    I got a great pair of texting gloves/mittens at J. Crew that have a cut out for the thumb. It’s still a little bit awkward to text but it’s definitely easier than having your thumbs covered!

  2. December 2, 2010 7:12 am

    Ah, I got a pair of those a few years ago. I normally text with my thumbs too but since I have a touch screen keypad as well, I just use my index finger when I’m outside in the cold. :)

  3. December 2, 2010 11:59 am

    ah yes, i need all the winter fashion help I can get! I also, never realized that I use my thumbs so much for texting, but you’re so right! if you find any good suggestions let me know; I need a good investment pair of gloves/mittens before I make my move up north!

  4. Anonymous permalink
    December 2, 2010 5:16 pm

    why don’t you try sewing a large button hole in the thumb?
    but they are really cute!

    http://www.craftstylish.com/item/42556/how-to-hand-sew-a-buttonhole

  5. December 6, 2010 6:13 pm

    So practical!

Leave a Reply

