Skip to content

Go Big or Go Home

December 12, 2010

I’m an advocate of dressing with a little bit of glitz and glam all year round. But when it comes to the holidays, I don’t just advocate, I might come and liberally douse you with glitter, lace, and velvet. While picking out an outfit for your next holiday party, keep the following in mind: ’tis the season to go big or go home. Here are two holiday outfits that adhere perfectly to that rule:

Luxurious Lady:

Holiday Party #1

The key to this look is luxury: sumptuous velvet draping; a glittering, tiara-like headband; a flash of red on your soles. With the possible exception of the Loubs (depending on how much feeling you have left in your toes), this outfit seems unbelievably cozy. It also scores bonus points for versatility: pair the dress with leggings and flat boots for a more casual twist.

Life of the Party:

Holiday Outfit #2

If you buy one holiday staple this year, make it something sequined. I promise, it will instantly brighten up your wardrobe! Here, I played up the black and gold color combo, added a punch of color with blue pumps, and turned up the volume on the makeup with major lashes and cherry red gloss. This outfit makes me want to jump up and dance!

Belle of the Ball:

Holiday Party #3

For more formal affairs, this pretty Rebecca Taylor dress has you covered. I paired it with this incredible metallic bolero and black lace accessories. Sure, there’s a ton going on here, but when worn with confidence, it can work! I don’t really do minimalism, but girly glam is totally manageable.

Which of these outfits would you wear?

xoxo Hannah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2010 10:05 pm

    The first one is classic but the last one is so much fun! Solid choices :)

  2. December 12, 2010 10:14 pm

    I absolutely ADORE the first and last looks! You did a great job on all of them.

    And I really, really hope you get into your first choice school!

  3. December 12, 2010 11:07 pm

    I love ALL of these outfits, they’re all so beauitful and festive! I’ve been keeping my eyes peeled for a crushed velvet dress and sparkly nail polish!

  4. December 13, 2010 8:20 pm

    the first outfit !

  5. Sarah MacFadden permalink
    December 15, 2010 6:16 am

    Hannah you have to tell me where to get that velvet dress….I really want it :)

  6. February 17, 2011 5:51 pm

    where can I get the elephant ring :)?

Leave a Reply

