Skip to content

Style Resolutions 2011

January 4, 2011

(source)

When I made style resolutions last year, I didn’t expect to be able to stick to them as well as I did! I branched out from dressing like one of Blair’s minions, incorporated more accessories into my outfits, and put more creativity into what I wore. Although I’m excited that I made progress last year, I’m disappointed I didn’t fulfill my fourth resolution, to be a more practical shopper. In 2011, I would really like to focus on this resolution. Here’s how I plan to achieve it:

  • Do a closet purge: I’m itching to go through my closet and sell or donate all the pieces I no longer wear. I’ve heard closet purges are wonderful for clearing out excess clutter, leaving behind a closet full of pieces you truly love to wear.
  • Understand need vs. want and shop accordingly: Right now, I need a new pair of black oxfords and a white silk blouse. I may want a J. Crew cashmere sweater and a second pair of denim leggings, but neither of those are going to make or break my wardrobe. By focusing on the pieces I truly need, I’ll have a well-rounded wardrobe without the
  • Stop impulse shopping: This is one of my worst habits! I tend to shop aimlessly and pick up whatever catches my eye. Unfortunately, it’s also an expensive habit that tends to make me feel guilty or regretful about my purchases.
  • Remix: Kendi Everyday launched the 30 for 30 project last year – wearing thirty pieces remixed into thirty outfits – and I totally adore the concept. If I pick the right thirty pieces to play around with, I think I’ll come away from the project with a renewed sense of appreciation for my wardrobe. I’m already dreaming up 30 for 30 outfit combos!
  • Unsubscribe from all those email list-servs: I’m bombarded with emails from Modcloth, J. Crew, Urban Outfitters, Rent the Runway, and more – all on a daily basis. I don’t need that kind of temptation streamed straight into my inbox on an hourly basis! It’s time to unsubscribe.

Especially with the looming threat of packing my wardrobe into a dorm room closet this fall, becoming a more practical shopper is going to be such an important skill to master this year. Here’s to a productive and practical 2011!

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2011 3:10 pm

    A great resolution and very good strategies for accomplishing it! I totally need to stop impulse shopping as well, and I have been pondering doing the 30 for 30 challenge in the future, too.

  2. January 4, 2011 6:35 pm

    I hope you’re better at this than I am! I’m a horrible impulse shopper… and I’m always terrified to throw something out since it may (or may not) come back in style again…

    Good luck!

    xo Leslie

  3. Anna permalink
    January 4, 2011 7:46 pm

    I have black oxfords, too! I love them! They’re so comfy and stylish. I don’t know how I should work them into outfits, though. If you have any ideas, I’d appreciate them!

  4. January 5, 2011 1:29 pm

    I think that’s one of my major problems too! I can justify shopping any time and for anything, i need to be a biiit more selective ;) congrats on accomplishing your goals!

Leave a Reply

