Skip to content

Wardrobe Essentials

January 5, 2011

During my hot yoga class tonight, the teacher preached about letting go of all the excess in our lives. My mind guiltily wandered back to my wardrobe, which has recently overflowed across my bedroom carpet. Out of everything I own, what do I really wear? What do I need? I’ve heard that most people only wear twenty percent of their closet eighty percent of the time – although, I’m not sure how that rule fluctuates for fashion bloggers and enthusiasts! Keeping that in mind, I compiled a list of my “twenty percent”:

  1. Black denim leggings
  2. Purple cashmere sweater
  3. Red floral tank dress
  4. Black opaque tights
  5. Cream lace top
  6. White tank top
  7. Orange tie-back dress
  8. Black bandage skirt
  9. Leopard faux fur jacket
  10. Black leather handbag

Which pieces in your closet do you constantly reach for? Which pieces do you wish you wore more often? Do you think you follow the twenty-eighty rule?

xoxo Hannah

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 6, 2011 6:42 am

    Great post! There are so many clothes I bought in a compulsive shopping mood that are collecting dust in my wardrobe with their prices still on, but I wouldn’t say I really follow the twenty-eighty rule. In my twenty-percent list there would be my blue denim leggings, my light washed jeans, three cardigans ( a dark cyan one – it’s the most incredible color-, a purple one and leopard print one), a cream top partly made of lace, a grey top, a dark cyan circle scarf and my vintage brown leather tote. I literally can’t live without these pieces!

  2. January 6, 2011 11:33 am

    Hmm this is very interesting to think about! Black opaque tights are certainly on my list because I wear them almost every day in the winter. I have been trying to switch that up so as not be boring with my legwear :) And of course both my black and cognac steve madden boots make appearances on my feet several times a week!

  3. January 6, 2011 4:21 pm

    It sounds crazy, but I “feel bad” for the clothes I don’t wear. Sometimes I go out of my way to create an outfit around a piece I haven’t pulled out of the closet in a while. Also, can’t wait to move, just to get rid of all the excess clutter I’ve accumulated over college!

  4. January 7, 2011 9:38 am

    Great list! Almost all of my wardrobe essentials are black…I definitely agree with you on the black denim leggings. I literally cannot get enough of mine…I need another pair or so, because I could wear them every day! I would also say a black cardigan (again, I could wear this everyday), and a good blazer. Oh, and a white button-down. But then there are always the pieces we can’t live without — for example, I have a rust-colored velvet skirt that I wear as much as I can! And my leather boots are about to fall apart from abuse.

    -Halie

  5. Naylor permalink
    January 7, 2011 9:38 pm

    I love this article! Next year I’m off to college and my parents are always joking how I’ll need another room just for my wardrobe! But the idea of minimizing my closet now is brilliant :) here’s my twenty percent: a vintage creme chrocheted cardigan, my black bandage skirt, red trench coat, a 1970s lace dress, black cutout flower tights, black vneck with sequined shoulders, a tea rose zipper dress, white ruffle blouse, high waisted ruffle skirt, navy low back longsleeve mini, my pink ballet tights, a forest green cashmere sweater, black cardigan with gold beads and zippers and finally my Oscar de la renta jewelled box clutch (my 18th birthday gift from my parents which I absolutely adore!) ps: I love your red floral tank dress!

Leave a Reply

