Skip to content

Alice + Olivia Pre-Fall 2011

January 12, 2011

The inspiration behind Alice + Olivia’s Pre-Fall 2011 collection was a “nutty grad student turned assistant professor.” I don’t know which school this fabulous inspiration goes to, but I’d like to be there, too! (Although, from the looks of the collection, I’d say NYU is a pretty safe bet.)

Designer Stacy Bendet created a preppy/eclectic mash-up with major style. Luxe textures reigned supreme: sequins, sheer, fur, leather, silk, fringe, and velvet all played a part. The mood of the collection is playful, trendy, and anything but basic. (Doesn’t it remind you of Aria Montgomery’s impeccably-styled character on Pretty Little Liars?)

Interested in recreating an Alice + Olivia-inspired look for yourself? Focus on dynamic textures, a palette of neutrals with pops of forest green and burnt orange, and keep styling simple with fierce black shoes and slouchy black berets, like the outfit below:

insipred by Alice + Olivia PF11

Suddenly, I think I have a use for that black beret I bought two years ago… Time to hit my closet and play around with Alice + Olivia-inspired ensembles! (Not like I can do much else today – I’m snowed in. Are you?) What do you think of Alice + Olivia’s Pre-Fall 2011 collection?

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    January 12, 2011 7:20 pm

    I was a somewhat nutty grad student, and then an assistant professor, and I have to say that none of this looks familiar. Wrong department maybe.

  2. January 14, 2011 1:51 am

    Ok a. Your dad is too funny! And b. this collection is marvelous. I have been obsessing over the semi sheer look for awhile now and can’t wait to experiment once we see warmer weather. I think i am in love with everything in that third column :)

  3. January 26, 2011 12:38 am

    Just adore those clothes!!!! :)

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Alice + Olivia Pre-Fall 2011 « Mademoiselle -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

