Skip to content

Like Chocolate

January 22, 2011

(Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4)

My dad has had the exact same hair style for approximately the past forty-five years. (Approximately speaking, of course. He has slightly less of it now than he did at age seven, and certainly less than he did as a college kid in the seventies.) He doesn’t get bored with his hair at all. At the other end of the spectrum, I’ve switched up my hair multiple times in the past year alone. I’ve gone straight, wavy, and curly, added highlights, cut bangs; trimmed off a few inches, and let everything grow out.

Last weekend, I was hit with the hair boredom bug again. I picked up a box of semi-permanent hair color and attempted to dye my hair the gorgeous chocolate brown featured on the box, hoping to achieve a shade similar to that worn by the lovely ladies featured above. (From top to bottom: an unknown model with stunning curls, Leighton Meester, my super stylish friend Alexandra, and Lucy Hale.)

Unfortunately, the dye wasn’t nearly as dark as I was hoping for, and I dyed my hair a near exact match for my natural shade. Do I give it another go tomorrow? I love my natural color, but I’m ready for a change! Chocolate brown is so chic.

How do you deal with hair boredom?

xoxo Hannah

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 22, 2011 8:20 pm

    I’m usually the type to cut my hair, but when I was in middle school and high school, I used to dye my hair pretty often. Just varying shades of brown though, haha. I’ve been wanting to go lighter though, but with hair as dark as mine, that’s tough with just boxed dye. And I say go for it, but maybe try a dye without ammonia and stuff so it fades faster just in case you don’t like it.

  2. Clara permalink
    January 22, 2011 9:43 pm

    Honestly, I cut my own hair when I get bored. I have yet to royally screw it up, so knock on wood. But anyways, if you trust yourself with scissors it’s fun and kind of cool to see how it turns out– I don’t always know until the end…
    Kisses!!

  3. Anna permalink
    January 22, 2011 10:01 pm

    I have chocolate brown hair, so this post made me laugh a little. I think your hair is gorgeous as is!

  4. January 23, 2011 11:27 am

    Your hair is a beautiful color but I say go for the change! Especially if you are only doing semi-permanent. What do you have to lose?

  5. January 23, 2011 9:40 pm

    These ladies are all rocking some wonderful hair! To deal with my hair boredom, I dye my hair every two months auburn red. I’m naturally dirty blonde, and this more lively shade has kept me from going crazy for the last 3 years or so. However, the style of my hair differs all of the time, which breaks the monotony of the same color change. I definitely think you should try some darker dye again- it would really work for you!

  6. Alexandra permalink
    January 24, 2011 8:36 am

    Thanks, Hannah :)

Leave a Reply

