Skip to content

For Jake

February 8, 2011

In the grand scheme of things, I know that what I write here is trivial. Writing about what I wear or how badly I want an extravagantly expensive pair of shoes does very, very little for anyone but myself. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in the little bits and pieces that make up our separate lives that we can forget what really matters. We forget how important it is to come together as a community and support each other.

A student at my school caused harm to himself this past weekend and passed away yesterday. My heart goes out to his family. I can’t even begin to imagine what they’re going through right now. To be honest, I tried writing this post last night and just couldn’t. There are no words for this. This entire situation is beyond heartbreaking. No one should have to feel so hopeless that they feel there’s only one option left. Nobody is alone.

If the events of this week have taught me one thing, it’s that no one is alone. Our school showed such a sense of family this morning when hundreds of students showed up for a meeting in Jake’s memory. I didn’t expect such an overwhelming response from our community: events were immediately organized in his honor, teachers set aside their lesson plans to address how students were feeling, total strangers opened up to one another, friends I lost touch with years ago stopped in the halls to ask how I was doing and give me a hug. The day was difficult to get through, but it would have been unimaginable if we didn’t come together as a community.

xoxo Hannah

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2011 8:19 pm

    Oh Hannah, I’m sorry. Something similar happened at our school when we were in 7th grade, but I didn’t know the person and it seemed very vague and far off. This, this is so real. I’m so sorry that your school has been rocked by this, but it’s great that you’re all coming together. I feel like it’s things like this that make you realize how close you all really are, that you’ll all be there for each other when you need it. Thinking of you all at NHS, and of course, Jake’s family.

  2. February 10, 2011 1:13 am

    Hannah, I’m sorry for you and your school and community. Like you said, I can’t even imagine how the family feels. When I was a junior in high school, one of my classmates lost her parents in a murder-suicide. It was so painfully real, I remember crying the entire school day. Our community really came together than too. <3

  3. February 10, 2011 1:18 pm

    Hannah I am so sorry for the loss you, your school and your community are experiencing. Terrible events like this are never easy. Sounds like you are all doing the right thing by being there for one another. I will be keeping all of you in my thoughts.

  4. February 10, 2011 5:18 pm

    i’m so sorry for you and your family-community. what a heartbreak. what you said in this post absolutely resonated with me. thank you for the reminder about what really is, and is not, important.
    -brittney

Leave a Reply

