Skip to content

Seeing Red

March 8, 2011

Sources: 1, 2, 3, 4

My new favorite beauty trend is a red lip. I tend to focus on eye makeup and forget about lip products, so it’s a refreshing alternative for me.

Last weekend, I did my own take on this look for a trip to SOWA Vintage Market in the South End. Considering I spent the day sifting through vintage clothing and knick-knacks, I felt it was appropriate to go for a bit of a fifties look. I wore a ruffled shirtwaist dress, a classic khaki trench, pearls, and black pumps. The finishing touch? Red lipstick. I went for a soft, matte version of the color:

What do you think of the look? Are you a fan of red lipstick?

xoxo Hannah

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Alyssa permalink
    March 9, 2011 11:06 pm

    I’ve heard that Lancome’s Red Haute color design lipstick is an awesome matte red! It’s a bit expensive, I think around $22 or so, but its a really nice matte and not super drying. It’s on my list of things to get this spring :)

  2. March 9, 2011 11:30 pm

    I never thought red lips would work on my complexion, but when I worked on a Her Campus photoshoot recently, that’s how my make-up was done. It took some getting used to, but I like it better than I thought I would :)

  3. March 10, 2011 11:16 am

    This looks so lovely on you! I love a vintage 50s look anytime :) I agree with Sarah that I’ve never thought it would work on me, but I still want to try it just to see. And Alyssa- that lipstick is on my list, too!!

Leave a Reply

